Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Monday, Jan. 06, 2003 10:25 A.M.

End of Week Re-cap

What a difference a day makes! I took my car to my mechanic/friend. He put the car up on the lift and with a flick (more of a yank) of a tire iron, my rear end dropped back down where it was supposed to be. On the car, silly. My rear end dropped years ago. Eureka!! No charge. Now for the bad news. What happened is because of the cold or whatever, the gas in the strut either froze or escaped. He said if it does it again, I will need a new strut. By the time I got home, it was back up again. The good news is that it isn't dangerous and I can drive it like that (carefully) for the next two weeks until I can afford to fix it. The other good news is that struts for a Toyola "Start" at around $43.00. I called Auto Zone and found out I have a cheapie car. Mine is $43.99. So that plus $30.00 he is charging me for labor means only $73.00. It could be a whole lot worse. If that had of gone up through my trunk, I would be looking at a ton more money.

***

My whistling monitor is still in the shop, so I have to go pay $5.00 rental on this little temporary one I'm using. I didn't realize how used to the 17" one I was until now. This little 15" is cute, but I want my big one back. Since they probably won't bother to fix it, they will give me another one, but not until at least next Thursday. I'll live.

***

In other good news, I had my eye doctor appointment this week. My eyes have once again improved. They have been steadily improving now for the past 8 years. I am getting new glasses, only because the ones I have were purchased in 1997. I'm due. The doctor said I am very unusual (like I didn't already know that). He said that between the ages of 35 and 45, your distance improves slightly and your close up vision starts to deteriorate. The improving distance only lasts about 2 years and then usually stays were it is for life. Well, for some reason, like I said, mine is still improving after 8 years. It could be, I suppose that I take off my glasses as soon as I walk into a room. I never have them on unless I am driving. Maybe I am strengthening them, who knows. He checked my near vision and said that I'm still ok for now. I knew that. I can't read with my glasses on, but I can read all day without them. He said he could make my new ones bifocals if I wanted. I told him that I am still able to thread my sewing machine needle so I don't want them. I'm not quite ready to throw in the towel to old age yet. Well, that isn't neccessarily true. I decided to stop coloring my hair. It's the first time I have let it grow out since I was about 30. I have gray!! Not a huge amount, but enough. That doesn't bother me. It is more silvery than gray. I think it's kind of purty.

***

Speaking of old age, I had an invitation the other day. Have you ever heard of the Red Hat Society? There was a poem written awhile back about a lady that was in her mature years. I can't remember how it goes, but near the end, it mentions something about a purple dress and a red hat. So some women got together and formed a club. It's nationwide now, I think. They all show up for their luncheon meetings wearing, yup you guessed it, a purple dress and a red hat. I was invited to join and was then told I couln't until I turn 50. That's not until June. I graciousley bowed out and said no thank-you. I was being asked by one of our tenants who is proud to proclaim that she is 84 years old. The three women I work with joined. When asked by this lovely lady why I didn't want to join, I simply told her I didn't want to. She asked why and I told her that I am going to have to be dragged into old age kicking and screaming. It is a lovely club, I'm sure. I told her to ask again when I'm 75. I will probably still decline.P>
***

Well, I have to get out of here. I have to go to the post office and mail off my copy of JOHN Q. to the wonderful fella on Swappingtons I got two more VHS tapes this morning. I scoffed up Indiana Jones Temple of Doom and Last Crusade. I love that place!! Mention my name if you join, ok? Please? Then you can get people to mention YOUR name and get points too! Good ole unclebob got 17 peole to use his name. He must have a gazillion points by now. I hate him! Not really. He's cool. He made a booboo though. He didn't join as Uncle Bob. He joined as Bob and someone grabbed the Uncle Bob user name. I wonder how many points he missed out on for that little mistake. Oh well. He has enough anyway, teehee. P>
***

You all have a wonderful week end!

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen