Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Tuesday, Mar. 18, 2003 6:51 A.M.

All About Harry

In about 34 hours it will start. I hope they are wrong. Do I agree? Do I disagree? I truly don't know. I only know that I hate it. I am sending a letter out today to my nephew, Spec. Harry Seavey III.

Harry is my nephew. He was always this little chunky kid that you wouldn't even notice. He was a good kid. He did't drink or drug. He just was. It seems like yesterday when his mom and he lived with me and my two kids. Two single moms just making do. I made him a turtle. I would ask him at 3 years old if he was a turtle and he would answer in that little boy voice, "You bet you sweet ass I is." He and my sister Buella moved away to Alaska with her new husband and baby girl and I didn't see them for a couple of years. I called one day on the phone and it broke my heart when I asked him if he remembered me. He said "no". I asked if he remembered his cousins, Jeff and Lori and he seemed to remember them slightly. I then asked the ultimate question, "Are you a turtle?" and he immediatly answered, "You bet you sweet as I am, I Know Who You Are!!!!!!

That was about 16 years ago. We had lost touch for the longest time and then about a year ago, I called him in Alaska where he was then stationed himself. Whoever it was that answered the phone said he was out on maneuvers. I asked him to give him a message. I told him to ask Harry the question and to give him my phone number. Later that week, I got a call. "Hi, aunt Karen" He told me he knew it was me immediately. I hadn't left my name.

That once, little boy is now in Kuwait City. I am scared to death for him. But I am also so proud that words cannot say. He finished his enlistment about 4 months ago and could have left Alaska with his wife and daughter and moved back to the US knowing he had served his country. That wasn't in the cards. He re-inlisted.

Now he is in the last place that I wish he were in.

He has grown into a fine man. An honest man. A soldier.

Harry, I love you more today than you can imagine. I pray for you and can only hope that you will be home to your wife, daughter and the rest of the family soon. I pray God will keep an eye on you and the others for me. I pray he will be there for Gloria and your Mom and help them deal with this too.

Harry, you truly are a turtle. You are sticking you neck out for your country. I thank you. May God bless you and return you home safely. I wrote you a letter. I am mailing it today but you may not get it. If not, it will be waiting for you when you get back.

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen