Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Wednesday, Apr. 02, 2003 5:43 A.M.

Bunch O' Stuff

Well yesterday was intresting. I didn't even mean to get Terry, but I did. He said he read my entry and bought it! Ha! I love it when you get someone you didn't even plan to get! I am actually surprised that I got so many. I did the same thing last year. I have to come up with something new next year.

Yesterday at work, I managed to get all my co-workers in one fell swoop. (I love the phrase.) We get our checks deposited automatically through a check paying service. They come in with our paystubs/check copies on Tuesday and our checks are deposited on Wednesday. The currier came in and I signed for the envelope. I don't know how it managed to pop into my head, but I signed for the package and then I went to give the envelope to my boss. We have a small office. I can stand in the middle and talk and everyone, including my boss in her office can hear me. I spoke up so I could be heard and said,

"Bosslady, The currier said to tell that the mainframe at Paychex is down. They have people working on it, but our money won't be deposited until Friday."

You could hear a pin drop. Don't get me wrong. Two days isn't going to make or break anyone there, but just the fact that their world is being altered is enough to set them back a bit. There was dead silence for about 10 seconds. Now, you don't know my boss, but she is the type that would jump right on the phone and call them to find out exactly what the problem was, so I had to add the "April Fools" within 30 seconds.

As soon as I did, everyone started mumbling, "I wasn't worried, what's two days?" Ya right. It was short lived and not very dramatic, but I definately got their attention.

The only other prank I pulled was that I do income tax for friends. One friend, Donna, had brought her daughter's over for me to do. She is getting about $700.00 back but I made Donna go home and tell her she owed $239.00 before she told her the actual. I know I didn't get to see her face when her mom told her, but I will get the story this morning. You don't know her daughter, but suffice it to say she went ballistic when she found out. And I know she bought it because she just started a new job about 8 months ago making pretty good money so she had no clue how her taxes would figure out.


On a great note, Nephew Harry called his mom last night! It was 4 am in Iraq, and he couldn't talk long, but long enough for us to know that at least for now, he is ok. He couldn't tell her much. He is driving supplies is about all he could say and that he is in Iraq. He said they are exhausted, but moral is good. They also changed the mailing address yet again. A few of you have said you would like to drop him a line. I think that is wonderful. When the new address is verified, I will e-mail it to those of you who want to sign up for my notify list that I am putting in. I don't want to post it directly. There are too many unknowns about doing that. I sure as hell wouldn't want him getting any protest letters. I would have to hunt that person down and do bodily harm to them. Besides, I want to make sure he gets upbeat letters. So I am just sending it to my readers here and not making it public. I should have the verified address within a couple of days.


In other news, my scanner is still on the fritz. For some reason, all of a sudden, since I got this new computer with windows XP, my scanner and printer don't want to get along. I downloaded a new driver for the scanner and windows picked up my printer all on it's own, but every time I scan a picture, (or try to) my computer freezes up. I will hopefully have it fixed this weekend or throw them both out the window, whichever comes first. I want to post some pictures here and I am damned if a little technology is going to keep me from doing it! Nossa!

Well that's about it this morning except that I sold both my old hub and modem on ebay and have to ship them out today. I also had a beautiful oil painting in that my son owns that didn't sell. It is gorgeous. It is actually a murel 9 1/2 feet X 5 1/2 feet. He had it up for $700.00. A lot of lookers, but no takers. I will probably be posting it again as a lesser price.

Well off to address some packages before work.

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen