Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Monday, Jun. 30, 2003 5:32 P.M.

Good-bye Miss Hepburn


1907-2003

The world has lost a wonderful actress today.

Admired everything about her. She was a true lady even in her slacks.

When I worked at the Jupiter Island Club, there were pictures of her in the corridor leading from the front dining room to the little bar. They were all black and white photos of her at the club in years gone by. She couldn't have been more than 18 or 20 at the time. Some of our older guests remembered her spending winters there with her family. She was remembered as being a big flirt. Of course she stopped short of being a little trollop. But she dazzled the boys from what I hear. And she took no garbage from anyone. She spoke her mind and didn't care who liked it. She was years ahead of her time.

I remember listening to her in later years, thinking she was stricken with Parkinson's. On that rumor, she set the record straight in the 1991 TV documentary "Katharine Hepburn: All about Me", which she narrated herself. Quote:

How to squash a rumor. No, I don't have Parkinson's. I inherited my shaking head from my grandfather Hepburn. I discovered that whisky helps stop the shaking. Problem is, if you're not careful, it stops the rest of you too. My head just shakes, but I promise you, it ain't gonna fall off!"

She had been diagnosed with Essential Tremor. This is a tremor syndrome that is similar to Parkinson's, but it only occurs in the head, hands and/or voice. Many web sites still say she had Parkinson's, but I don't believe them.

One of my favorite movies that she starred in was "On Golden Pond." The reason? She was teamed with Henry Fonda, another of my all time favorite actors. One of my favorite movie lines was when Henry looked at Katherine and said,

"Wanna Suck Face?"

There was just something so romantic about that line.

Go with God, Katherine. You will be missed.


Today is my Thursday, sort of. I worked today and I work tomorrow, but then I'm off until Monday! Eeha! And except for tonight, there is not much chance of rain in the forecast. I would like to think I will get some work done around here, but who am I kidding? I'll probably just be a lazy butt and hang around the house. Well, hell, isn't that what vacations are for? I mean, after all, this will be the most time off I have had in about 2 years that I haven't been recovering from something. Ya, hanging out is good. Starting tomorrow at 3:30, I'll get right on it.

Later�

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen