Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Thursday, Jul. 03, 2003 11:01 A.M.

Another Public Service Announcement.

The following is a Public Service Announcement from you local (or distant) loudmouth, Cosmicrayola. If you already know about this, feel free to disregard and go about your daily reading schedule.

Great news! The US Government has taken a stand for us all! It is a new program called:

DO NOT CALL

Now maybe you like getting all those telemarketer calls during dinner, when you are busy, or when you are trying to use the toilet. Not me. Or maybe you like getting those annoying hang ups and your mind wanders and tries to figure out if someone is stalking you, or you have a bashful secret admirer or if a loved one tried to call in an emergency and were cut off right before they passed out. Not me. The reason this happens is because an automated dialer will dial up to 5 numbers at random. Unfortunately, Betty, BillyBob and Rastus took the night off so only Peggy Sue and Homer are working and can only answer the first two calls. The other three schmucks get hang-ups.

Now you have a choice. You register your phone number with this site (a government site, not a private one) and it stores your phone number for 5 years. This will cut down on most, (not all) of your problems. You can go to the site and read it all or just go and register your number. For those of you who don't want to absorb all the info, I will give you the highlights.

1. Charitable organizations can still call you, but not their for-profit reps.

2. Political organizations can still call you

3. Telephone surveys are still allowed.

4. Some insurance companies are still allowed.

5.Of the ones that are no longer involved, they face up to an $11,000.00 fine if they call you after October 1st.

6. They are required to show their phone number on your caller ID.

This should stop a ton of them anyway. If you want to read just the rules, you can click HERE You will need Adobe Acrobat to read it. Or you can just go to the site.

I got another one of those idiots yesterday wanting to give me a brand new credit card with a $50,000 limit. I said to him,

"I sure DO want one of those. Can I have it even though I'm going through bankrupcy?"

He hung up on me.

Teehee, that'll get 'em every time. I know people who can just hang up on telemarketers, but for the life of me, I'm not one of them. I don't know why. I just can't do it. I can fib, or make up a great story but I can't just hang up. I know, I'm strange. I think one of the best comebacks I have come up with so far when they are selling something is just telling them in the first few seconds that I don't hold a credit card. That usually creats a disconnect rather quikley.

Well, I've done my good deed for today. Catch you all tomorrow.

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen