Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Friday, Aug. 01, 2003 7:45 P.M.

Ok, Rant here.

This is excerpts taken from a news story published in USA Today. It really pissed me off. I supported Bush when he took office. I still support many of his actions and will continue, but he is really, really, really starting to get on my nerves. I will explain.

"But Bush also called on Americans to be tolerant of gays and lesbians. "

Tolerant??? Tolerate: v] put up with something or somebody unpleasant; "I cannot bear his constant criticism"; "The new secretary had to tolerate a lot of unprofessional remarks"; "he learned to tolerate the heat".

I "tolerate" bad manners. I "tolerate" bratty kids. I "tolerate" Asinine statements. I "tolerate" traffic jams. I do not "tolerate" gayness. If I were to say I tolerate it, it reduces gayness to something upsetting . Gayness in it's own right is happiness from what I can see. It is a happiness to love whomever you please with nothing more that a free and open heart. I love my husband. The president, I am sure, has no problem with that. So why does he or anyone have a problem with gays? Are they asking you to pay their rent? Are they telling you that you can't live in their neighborhood? Are they infringing in any way on YOUR lifestyle? I believe the president and everyone else should lay off. They are simply asking for what we all want. The right to be with whom they choose and share their lives as any other couple. It isn't even as if they will have a better life than us "man and woman" couples. Sure, there is the obvious tax breaks, insurance and a few other bennies that we all enjoy, but there is also the same pitfalls.

If they choose to part company, there are the costs of divorce, custody suits and financial responsibility for each other. One goes down the financial toilet, they both go. Just like the rest of us. I don't think they are asking for the sanctuary of marriage for any different reasons then I did. Simply put, I was in love and wanted to share my life with all the ups and downs that go with it.

I have gay friends. One in particular looks forward to someday having the wedding all girls dream of. Why shouldn't she?

Even so, the president said that did not mean he had to accept gay marriage. "I believe in the sanctity of marriage," Bush said. "I believe a marriage is between a man and a woman, and I think we ought to codify that one way or the other."
Codify? Who the hell even talks like that??? Who is writing for him now? Well, that aside, many dictionaries define marriage as the union between two people. Or the union between a husband and wife. Ok, it is alright for the good old government to become politically correct when they changed chairman to chairperson, and many other forms of address. I think we should change man and woman to people.

A senior White House official said the president meant that the administration was considering supporting a GOP proposal to amend the Constitution to limit marriage to a man and a woman.

Careful here folks. This could be the very first step in a long line of new ammendments. Next we could have President Bush saying that he "Believes" marriage should only between people of the same race, same ethnicity. Yup, I think this way of thinking is the first step in advocating laws that deny the very principles for which our country stands. Our forefathers founded America to fight for out freedoms, not to start limiting them all over again.

"We are very disappointed that the president is trying to further codify discrimination against gays and lesbians into law," said Winnie Stachelberg, political director of the Human Rights Campaign.

This is the first line I agreed with.

"Marriage should be between a man and woman. President Bush has the courage to say it," said Roberta Combs, head of the Christian Coalition of America.

More bullcrap.

Patrick Guerriero, executive director of Log Cabin Republicans (news - web sites), the nation's largest gay Republican organization, said the 1996 Defense of Marriage Act signed by President Clinton (news - web sites) already limits marriage to men and women. The act allowed states to ignore same-sex unions licensed elsewhere.

Gee, did Clinton fight as hard against adultry? Oh ya, He likes girls so it's ok.

Bush was also asked about his view toward gays.

"I am mindful that we're all sinners, and I caution those who may try to take the speck out of the neighbor's eye when they've got a log in their own," Bush replied, paraphrasing from the Bible.

White House spokesman Scott McClellan said Bush was not trying to insult gays. "The president is someone who does not believe in casting stones."

Gee, what happened to:

Do Unto to others as you have them do unto you.

When will others start minding their own business. I was brought up to live and let live. How are same sex marriages going to hurt anyone? How does this infringe on anyones rights or happiness? And who's business is it anyway???? Later�

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen