Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Thursday, Jul. 31, 2003 6:54 A.M.

Whine with your breakfast?

I didn't win powerball last night so I guess I have to go to work today.

I also have to drive hubby's car. For the next two weeks. Why? Because my daughter has mine. Why? Because she drove hers over here last night so the smiley-faced re-po people could pick it up. Why? Because she has fallen, this past year on hard times and couldn't make payments. And we sure couldn't make them for her. It can't get much worse that that, right? Wrong. The said vehicle was in my name and hubby was the co-signer. Why? Because we never thought she would get the car in the first place. Well slap us silly!

And....

They still haven't signed our contract at work. We have been without a contract now since last October. Yup. No raises yet. Of course, if they ever get their thumbs out of their butts, it will make quite a lovely retro check. If they ever...

And...

In two weeks, we are opening our Section 8 Housing list for applications. Normally, we have people come into the office each day for one week and give them an application. They fill it out and bring it back to us. Then I input them into the computer and we have a waiting list. Not this time. This time, bosslady, in her infinate wisdom, has taken the lead from another housing authority and decided that we are going to mail out the applications and have people mail them back to us. We have not opened out list since April 2001. We constantly get phone calls asking when it is going to open. Not usually a problem. We normally have about 150 people sign up. Not this time. We have been getting calls 20 times a day from all over the country. These people are told that we will be mailing out applications so of course these people will tell 20 more people, who will tell 20 more people, etc., etc.

Guess who is taking all the names and addresses for the whole week? Yup, that would be me. This is going to be a free-for-all. From August 4th throught August 8th, I will be going certifiably insane. I will be allowed. I will even if I am not allowed.

I would be ok with all of this except that we are just sending out the applications (and guess who will also be typing all the envelopes) But we are not sending a cover letter. How would that help? Because we would be able to tell all of these people that if you are not a resident of our fair town, that they will be required to move here and live for one year when they get a voucher. If they knew that, at least 80% would not even send the application back. But no, no I say. Instead I will put all these names into the system for no reason. Makes sense to you? Oh, and here is the kicker. The aformentioned housing authority that came up with this brilliant plan and told bosslady that they recieved 1,500 requests but failed to mention that they only took requests for ONE DAY! We are doing it all week! I can assure you this much. After the dust settles, we will probably not open ours again untill I retire. Hell, it will probably take that long to type all the envelopes!

Ok, I guess I have to get ready for work. Sorry for all this. I don't usually do this much whine before breakfast. At least I save it all up and put it all in one post, huh?

Oh, And I have discontintued my notify list. To the two people that checked and joined, I guess you'll just have to check in from now on. Since kitchenlogic never signed up, well, what's the point. (sniff)

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen