Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Friday, Aug. 08, 2003 10:09 P.M.

I will live.

My Doctor Quacks me up!

I had my physical today. Since I have a separate doctor for my GYN visits, I don't mind going to this Dr. I get to keep my pants on.

This is my Internist/heart/everything else doctor. He is my Dr. Bob. I am on a first name basis with this guy. He is the first doctor that sees things my way. He respects the fact that I have lived in this body for 50 years and I just may know a little more about it than he does.

I called his office last two weeks ago and told the new nurse/receptionist that I wanted to schedule a physical because I am having surgery the first week in October and want to know that everything is working like it should. She told me that she could fit me in on today's date.

I then told her I would be in the next few days to pick up the paper for my lab work. She said that that would be fine. She said that since I was on Lipitor, that she would schedule me for a lipid test for my cholesterol. I said that was good, but I also wanted a test for the whole ball of wax. Glucose, lipids and the whole CBC thingy. She acted like I was asking for her to make my coffee , but said ok.

I put off going for the blood work until yesterday. Why? Am I afraid of needles? No. Am I afraid of seeing blood? No. It is simply because you have to fast the night before and I HATE mornings without coffee. The upside is that the lab opens at 7:00 so by 7:15, I was at work with the coffee brewing.

So anyway, my appointment was today. Doctor Bob came in and asked how I've been. I told him that It's been up, it's been down. No different than anyone else. He asks out of genuine concern. This is not the average doctor. I have talked to him over a beer at our local bar. He asked how Terry is doing. We are more than doctor/patient. So I know I can be flip and get a laugh out of him.

I asked if he got my blood work back and he told me that he was excited. He then showed me my file. My cholesterol has gone from 218 down to 176. My bad, or LDL has gone from one hundred 70- something down to 130 and my good, or HDL went from 21 up to 30.

He said my red blood count came back a little abnormal. It seems that I have the opposite of anemia. But not anything to worry about. The number was 15..5, but that means nothing to me. I just know that I have plenty of iron. Must be from biting my "nails" har-har.

So I am going to live till my next physical, Lord willing and the Creek don't rise. (sorry, but after the age of 50, you develop the urge to recite old sayings you remember as a kid)

The only problem with my physical was the problem Doctor Bob had. He was finished praising my body, or the good health of it, when he started asking the standard questions. I was sitting on the exam table and he was sitting on a chair, using the other end of the exam table as a desk, writing his notes.

Question: "How's menopause going?"

Answer: "Gone without a trace."

Question: "Any problems we haven't covered?"

Answer: "Just the occasional headaches that I ward off with 3 Tyenol and a coffee."

Question: "When was your last Mamogram?"

At this point, I took my hand and knocked on top of his head.

"Did we forget?"

In all my years of seeing doctors, this was the first time I EVER made one blush. His face turned beet red as he mumbled that "oh ya, you don't need one anymore."

I asked if he would like some help pulling that foot out of his mouth.

In all honesty, I am please that he didn't remember. He wasn't my surgeon, so he didn't take part in my mastectomy. So it's nice to know that there is actually a man in the world that fixates on what I am saying instead of my boobs. There were a lot of years where that wasn't so. I was only a 36 C, but they stood proud! Even at 48! I miss them some days. Not most.

Well, I have bored you enough with my medical jaunt. Just for the record, all this wellness is only overshadowed by the fact that I do have emphesyma (sp). I am going to work on that. I don't know when. It is a decision with the cigs that I alone can make. When I have, I will let you know. I know what I have to do, so I don't need a pep talk about that.

I am going to hit the sack and watch Monk. I get to sleep in tomorrow. Yay!!!!

Later�

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen