Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Wednesday, Aug. 06, 2003 9:10 P.M.

I'm Back to Normal (?)

Par for the course and as I predicted, we are slowing down at work. The calls are now coming in short bursts. I only had 60 calls today. We should be even slower tomorrow, but I predict a busy Friday afternoon when all the people that haven't called yet start to panic. And of course, since we stop taking names at 3:00, I will make at least two or three enemies that will call after 3:00 and get mad that they missed the cut off. I think I am going to suggest to bosslady that we close the office then so we don't have to be the bad guys. It's amazing but it will happen. It will go something like this.

"Hello, This-town-housing-place, may I help you?"

"yes, I would like to get an application."

"I'm sorry. We took names all week from 9:00am till 3:00pm as advertised, but it ended at 3:00."

"I haven't had time to call, I have been busy and it's only 3:10."

"I'm sorry. The cut-off was at 3:00."

"When will you have the next sign-up?"

"Probably not for the next 3 years."

"Can you just send me one this time? I'm only a few minutes late."

"I'm sorry, I can't"

"*&$*&$(*#&!!!!"

"I'm sorry, bye"

Then I feel like crap for the next two weeks because this person got shut out even though he had all week to call and didn't bother. We advertised it twice in the newspaper but people will call on Monday and say they didn't know. We had over 75 people call from Boston, Connecticut and other far away places, but the girl up the street will swear that she didn't know.

On the up side, we have given a bunch of people hope. A light at the end of the tunnel. At least they know that eventually their name will come up and they will get some much needed help. For that, I am glad. I know a woman with 6 kids that works 60 hours a week to feed her kids. She refuses to stay home and do nothing. She needs help. She is willing to work for it. God bless her. I am glad to help her find it.


On the hair front. Did I take the advice I was given? Of course not! I am a stubborn Irish girl and have to do it my way. Yup sure do. I had that one box of lightener left. Yes, ibepiglet, bleach. Did I listen when you said not to use it? pshaw! I put that on like a pro! Did I wait the 30 minutes like before? No, because it didn't strip it, remember? No, I left it on for 50 minutes!!

I wish I had batteries in my camera. You would not believe it. Terry just about had a heart attack, I like to have had a stroke. My sister Carol was holding back hysterical laughter so hard I thought she would wet her pants. I kid you not. Take the most orange carrot you have ever seen. Now lighten it a few shades and then bath it with nuclear (not to be confused with nucular) waste and you have the color I ended up with. I looked like a radio-active feather duster!

Thank God Charl, my co-worker has a Hairdresser for a daughter. She has reference books! I called her and cried like a baby and told her my next step was nair. I had the bottle in my hand and was armed and dangerous! Sinead O'conner would have been proud.

She talked me down off the ledge and told me what to buy to fix it.

Thank God too, that Sister Carol stopped laughing like a hyaena long enough to run up to the pharmacy for me.

I have now got a new best friend. Her name is Miss Clairol. Her nickname is #116 and she is an angel sent from above. My hair is now a pretty light brown with golden highlights. I like it. I am keeping it this way. At least until it grows out and gets strong enough for the next adventure.

No Terry, I'm just joking. It stays like this. Besides, anymore messing with it, I won't have to worry about my hair. It will be the skin that will be the problem. I feel like I want to stick my head in the freezer for a day or two. But I AM still thinking about that eyebrow ring. Just kidding, really. I am.

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen