Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Friday, Aug. 15, 2003 8:32 P.M.

Gone for a bit.

I may be gone for just a bit.

Ok, ok, I'm not going to be gone long. It may be only a few days (if I'm lucky)

When I bought this computer last year it had Windows XP on it. You may or may not remember me bitching and moaning because most of my toys, as in my scanner, camera, web cam, and printer were not compatible. I managed to download drivers for the printer and web cam. I had to BUY the updated driver CD from Hewlett(damn)/Packard and still can't use my scanner with both my ink jet and my laser printer because of a conflict. Ok, I lived through it. No big deal. Well, by now it isn't.

But yesterday I went through the roof, I was so ticked off! I manage to escape that latest worm, but news has it that there is already a new and improved Lovsan II. I decided that though the first one didn't get me, I wanted the free patch that Microsoft offered. So I went to their site.

Hahahahaha!!!

Guess what! Remember good old Rent(jerkwads)Way? I know I mentioned them. It's where I got my stove and refrigerator and this computer.

Well anyway, yesterday I decided that even though I haven't gotten the worm yet, there is no sense in taking a chance. I went to microsoft and tried to download the patch to install that would protect me. Nosiree, Bob. It ain't gonna happen. Instead of a quick 30 second download and install, I got the message that my version of Windows XP was invalid! Then to add insult to injury, they expected me to email piracy at microsoft dot com and report myself. Ya, ok. I was born AT night, but not LAST night.

Today, I called Gateway because my computer is still under warranty. They sent me instructions to take out Windows XP. Now that sounds simple, right? Except that when I bought this, they failed to give me the easy fix restore discs. I have now spent 2 hours downloading BIOS files, Motherboard files, monitor, etc to disc from their site. Not to mention all the pictures, documents and other things I had to save to disc or lose.

So tomorrow morning, bright and early I can be found reformatting my hard drive. Oh the thrill of it all. I'm in uncharted waters here folks, so if you don't hear from me in a few days, you'll know why.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen