Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Friday, Aug. 29, 2003 4:53 P.M.

Skipping Friday Five. I'm just too old for it.

Wow! What a weird week.

I decided (with urging from Terry) not to sink $200.00 into a 11 year old, $500.00, rusting out Toyota with 255,000 miles on it. Nope, he talked me right out of it. So as of next week, I will be driving a 1998 Hyundai. Maybe. I am looking at that one and some others tomorrow. This reputable, (yes, I said reputable) used car dealer I know is showing me what he can put me into tomorrow. He gives a 6 month guarantee and he has a bunch on the lot for under $4,000.00. The good part is, that he gives you the paperwork, but doesn't make you get comp or collision. So I don't have to worry about insurance. I just swap out the cars for the liability. I plan on putting my hunk-a-junk on the lawn with a $500.00 price on it. Believe it or not, even without a muffler, it will sell. (I hope)

My discs still haven arrived yet from Rentway, but I am still hoping for tomorrow. If I don't get them tomorrow, Mr. paul-at-the-rentway-place will hear from me on Tuesday. Oh ya, he will hear me loud and clear. But I think they will arrive.

Next on the hit parade of misfortune, we decided to go back to Cox, high-speed instead of waiting for Verison. I liked the cable better. It is more expensive, but when you figure that it is better service and faster speed, I'm ok with the price.


Last Saturday, during the yard sale, Sister Carol and I gave Sister Stella her birthday present. Her Birthday wasn't until Wednesday, but we had chipped in on the present and with us all working, we decided to give it to her last week. We bought her an official Bingo bag. We stalked it full of dabbers, tape, candy, markers and all kinds of junk. She was estatic. So Thursday night, we all three went to Bingo for her birthday. I didn't win, but we had a good time. She turned 55. Yup, good time for me, hahaha. I am still next to the youngest. Yes, Buella you can laugh. I know you are reading this and you will always be the youngest. Don't rub it in. Ok, go into my guestbook and rub it in. (brat)


On the workfront, I have put in 179 of the 250 applications. Only 71 to go. What a job! I don't mind doing it at all. It's just that I will be glad when I'm done so I can mail out letters telling people where they are on the list. At least 15 calls a day asking. I can't tell them untill they are all in. I can't get them in when they are calling me to ask where they are. Catch-22 here. Damned if I do and Damned if I don't.

We got a nice surprise yesterday. Boss lady announced that we were to close at 2:30 today for the long week-end. Love it! It feels like it should be 7:00 and it isn't even 6 yet. Hubby is fed, I'm on my second sombrero and the rest is gravey till Tuesday morning.


We bought Lord of the Rings - Two Towers. We watched about an hour and a half on Wednesday night. We should watch the rest tonight. I have made a decision. Before the next one comes out, I am going to watch this one again a few days before. I can't remember from one to the next, what's happened. The same with Harry Potter. We did watch the previous one first last time. So when we saw the new one, the last one was still fresh in our mind. It must be an old age thing.


Ok, I have rambled enough. I have a question to ask. The subject is potatos. I know of course that when one bakes potatos, the the skin is left on. But Terry and I had a discussion tonight. I sometimes make potato boats. Take the potato, wash it, cut it into boat-like shapes, dip them in oil, sprinkle with seasoned salt and bake. Those are always baked with the skins on too. Now here is the question. Sometimes if I am boiling potatos, if the skins are thin, I leave them on. My mom always did. Terry, on the other hand has never known anyone but me to leave on the skins when boiling. My question: Am I the only one who does this? Is it maybe a New England thing? Just a Maine thing? I would like to know.

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen