Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Sunday, Oct. 19, 2003 9:39 A.M.

I Joined Another Ring

I have joined yet another diary ring. I don't join all that I am invited to. They must be something I am involved in, or believe in.

I belong to some of the review site rings because they reviewed me.

I belong to the Trekkie ring because, yes I confess, I am a diehard trekkie.

I belong to the Andrew Day ring because I founded Andrew Day, though the ring is not my doing.

I belong to the Dodgyn Proud ring because my friend, nzforestguy, wanted one and I made it for him.

I belong to the cancer sucks ring for obvious reasons.

I belong to the over-40-crew because I started it for us oldies but goodies.

That explains why I belong to most of them. That leaves 2.

One is the Honorary Transsexuals of which I am a proud member. No, I am not a transsexual, but a dear friend msleslie is and I have nothing but the highest respect and admiration for her and I was deeply moved when she invited me to join. Now for the latest in my enlistments.

I have joined the "I support Gay Marriage" diaryring. Why? Because I felt it was right. I don't jump on the bandwagon for all the civil liberty issues that I read about. Though I respect everyone�s opinions, I sometimes do not share them. I do share this one. I don't think the government is getting it.

They are sticking to the rule that a marriage is between a man and a woman. Ok, let�s go with that. This, according to our powers-that-be is the way is supposed to be. This is the way it has always been. This is the way it always shall be. Well, folks, Lets go on that assumption. Let�s put everything back the way is has always been. From this day forward, we shall step back and put things back to the days of yore and fix everyone�s problems. How about this for some new laws:

1. Sex will only be allowed in the missionary position and only for reproduction.
2. There will be no birth control allowed. This is not sanctioned.
3. Women will stay home and raise the children and will not be allowed to work outside the home.
4. Police will not get involved with men beating their wives and children. This is a family matter.
5. Men will make all the money and decide how it is spent. (see rule 3)

This list could go on and on. Why? Because there have been hundreds of laws enacted in this country to allow for necessary changes for everyone. We cannot inflict our personal religious or ethical beliefs into law unless it is the wish of all the people. And our politicians shouldn�t be talking out of both sides of their mouths at the same time. Case in point?

Our government is saying that a marriage is supposed to be ONLY between a man and a woman because of the moral/religious issue yet it has taken prayer out of our schools.

Come on! Which one is it? If you are going to tar and feather all of the gay lesbian community based on those issues, you had best allow my kid to say the Our Father in class if he/she chooses. Can�t do it can you?

The bottom line here folks, is twofold. Nobody should have a right to dictate who you should or should not be allowed to marry. It is between the two �people� and none of your business. And next, gays and lesbians have just as much right to insurance, loans, education and every other right we are afforded in this �civilized� �progressive� country. We should be moving forward, not back into the dark ages.

Not allowing, by law, the marriage of gays and lesbians, in my opinion, is the epitomy of the now-recognized "Hate Crime".

That's my opinion and I am standing by it. If you don't agree, that's fine. You have a "right" not to.

And that is why I joined the ring.

Later�

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen