Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Friday, Oct. 24, 2003 10:19 P.M.

I am silly tonight.

Good Evening. It is 9:50 and I�m sitting here with a coffee brandy sombrero and the TV. Terry has called it a night so I�m playing.

I decided to take a test I found in my e-mail from e-mode. I do them when I get bored. Tonight�s test was �What is your theme song?�. I know I am an upbeat person, but c�mon! This is so NOT right! Here for your perusal is what they had to say about that:

Karen, your theme song is Walking On Sunshine! Your upbeat approach to life makes "Walking on Sunshine" the perfect anthem for you. We can see you dancing down the vegetable isle with your grocery cart, smiling at all the checkout clerks.

Ok, I admit it. I often find myself singing along with the music in the car, the grocery store, and even at work, but never, never, NEVER will you EVER hear me sing along to this song. Ok, it�s only that I don�t know the freakin words.


From this test, I was invited to win $50,000 at poetry.com for simply answering 7 questions and submitting a poem. Ok, I wrote possibly one of the worst poems in history just for kicks. They say they will review it and it MIGHT be posted on their site. It MIGHT be included in their next anthology of poems, printed in hardcover with gold trim. I MIGHT be. Well, allow me to let you in on a little secret. It WILL be. How do I know? Because anyone who writes a poem to this site, no matter how bad, gets published. Yup. Wanna be published? This is your ticket. Free! Yup, you read me right, FREE. The sad reality is that this place will publish a poem written by your 4 year old and have you convince he/she is a genius. What do they get out of it? They get Mommy, Daddy, Grandma and anyone else that cares to fork over $50.00 for the book it will appear in.

And How do I know all of this? Firsthand experience. Yes, I who usually commends myself on being a sharp cookie, fell for it. Imagine my utter humiliation. I wrote one back 3 years ago and submitted it. A few weeks later, I got a letter telling me it was �picked� to be published in their book. I ran around telling everyone. I was so proud. Until I showed a friend of mine and she told me the same thing happened to her. And all four of her friends that had submitted one. In reality, one of my friends did purchase the book. They put these out every 3 months or so. The book is gorgeous and a lovely heirloom to pass down to the grandkids, but still. You pay that sort of money and read some of the others that are in there and you quickly realize how it works. Also, in fairness, the one I wrote is still listed on their site. Now there shall be two.

This is the one that I put all of 5 minutes into. This work of genius, (which they will try to get me to believe it is):

�The Question of my Demise�

Oh what is to come become of me
when life is done and I must go?
Will I lay and rot beneath the ground,
become food to plants that others sow?

Or perhaps I shall rise up and away
becoming part of the galaxy
my atoms infusing with other souls
traveling as one, or is that fallacy?

Maybe I will stay around
A ghostly presence to oversee
A whisper in an unsuspecting ear
To remind them of who once was me

My hope is that childhood tales are true
that I will go to heaven and stay
Well, not to worry. It's not that time
It will have to wait for another day

I mean, really. How bad is that? That would have e.e.cummings barfing! I just felt the need to prove a point, I guess. I�ll let you know when I receive the letter.

Well, time to go play some Yahoo Mah Jong. See ya in the funny paper.

Later�

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen