Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, Apr. 17, 2004 5:17 P.M.

POY Entry for 4/18/04

Pieces of You

The Chinese believe in reincarnation, and that when you die, you'll have to cross a bridge, and on that bridge, there are many people, and they represent the levels you have to pass through.

There is one person who is an old lady. She is in charge of making a soup [more like a potion...] to give to the souls to drink, so that they can forget everything. Sad memories, happy memories, embarrassing memories, sweet memories... all your memories.

Would you drink that soup? If yes, what are the things that you want to forget? Explain why.

If no, explain why.


Absolutely not! No way Hosea!

First of all, I have some wonderful memories. Memories of my Grandparents, my mom, my husband, my kids and grandbabies.

Memories of the birth of my children are two of the post precious memories I have. I don�t ever want to lose them. I have memories of my mom that I hold very near and dear. To forget those memories? I don�t think so. I would want to take those memories into the next life so that I would remember love. So I would remember being loved. I would want to take that into my next life.

The memories I have that perhaps were not so great are important too.

Painful memories of the death of my mom when I was only 28. Those memories are a reminder to constantly make new wonderful memories with my own daughter so that she will have enough to last her a lifetime when it comes time for me go. I would want to take that into my next life.

The painful memories of broken relationships that failed. In this life, they taught me not to take my husband for granted, but to also keep to my own beliefs. To not be taken advantage of either.

Lost loves give us a chance to become a better person, a stronger person and in some ways to be a gentler person if this is a truth we need to learn also.

We learn with every mistake, be it our mistake or someone else�s. We learn through love and being loved. We learn through our own pain and the pain of others.

Through pain, we develop compassion, conscience and empathy. These are necessary in any life. We learn that the pain takes all forms. Pain is loss, pain is anger, and pain is loneliness.

Without pain, we cannot appreciate the good times. It is all about balance. Good and bad, right and wrong, life and death.

To not keep all of the memories would be a shame. In the words of George Santayana, "Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it."

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen