Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Thursday, Apr. 26, 2007 7:51 P.M.

Sick of these emails!!!!

I just received an email from a friend. She doesn't read my diary but I called her on the phone to talk to her about it. It disturbed me. At the very top were the words: SUBJECT: You have 6 Minutes. Under that was this picture,

I have no clue why the original sender had this at the top of the email, it in no way, had anything to do with the body of the message. I thought it was kind of sick.

The message started out,

This is without a doubt one of the nicest good luck forwards I have ever received. I hope it works out your you --- and me! You have 6 minutes.

It then proceeded to list a bunch (25) of little advice slogans, as in "When you say "I love you", mean it." Or "When you argue, argue fairly, no name calling." You get the idea. Well, if it didn't have the picture at the top, it would have been ok, though personally, I get sick of getting all those feely good emails. Sometimes I want to have a crappy day and it pisses me off when some people are determined to cheer me up. Leave me and my bitchiness alone, why don't ya! It would be different if I wrote it here. I Expect you guys to cheer me up. That's what I pay you for. Oh, I don't pay you? Okay, nevermind. Back to the subject.

So okay, the picture kind of creeped me out. But that's alright. What DID get me is when I got to the bottom, I got that familiar order that I MUST send this to 1-5 people within 6 minutes to have a day of happiness, 6 � 12 people to have a month of happiness. 13 to 1323848732 people to guarantee a life of total happiness and bliss, yadda, yadda, yadda. Then the ominous last line.

"If you do not forward this within 6 minutes, you will get a very unhappy surprise. You MUST pass this on!!!

Okay, me, I just blow them off and delete them, but I know others who wouldn't delete them on a bet. And I know a few who would spam the Vatican if it meant having to come up with enough "friends" to send it to. My issue with these sort of emails?

Imagine you send this same email to a friend, who sends it to a friend, who sends it to someone that is not having a good day. Maybe that person has been having a lot of bad days lately. Maybe this person is at the point of feeling totally useless and horrible. This person receives this email that promises to bring undue pain and suffering if they don't forward it to 2342 of their most intimate friends. This person deletes it. Then, because bad things happen to good people sometimes, within the next day of so, this person has something bad happen to a loved one.

This could be the final straw. This person could actually blame themselves because they didn't send a stupid email. Don't laugh. I am dead serious about this. We have all agreed that mental illness is on the upswing. So why would you send emails that threaten hardship, pain or worse to a supposed friend? I understand some people are superstitious. But do you really believe that these emails are entertaining? Funny? I don't. I think they are sick and cruel. I delete them whenever I get them.

If you want to threaten me with something really scary, threaten me with the curse of 1,000 fleas infesting my armpits. I know it isn't original, but at least it's funny.

And while I'm on the subject of emails, I may as well get the rest off my chest.

I try to clean off any and all email addresses before I forward an email. There is nothing worse than having to scroll for 3 minutes just to get to a one line joke that you heard back when Jesus was a crossing guard.

Not all other people do that though. That's okay if you don't. I like your emails anyway. Don't stop sending them. But anyway, whenever people do that, they are sending dozen's of email addresses to virtual strangers of the people they are forwarding to. And ya wonder how spammers get your names?

Ok, I'm done now. I think. Yup, I am.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen