Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Friday, Apr. 30, 2004 7:48 P.M.

Deja

Thank you all for your kind words, prayers and hugs. You can�t know how much they mean to me.

Here is what is going on. Bear with me if I ramble. This is so hard for me. I am just sick about it.

Before I start telling you what happened, Deja is fine for today.

Wednesday night, I got �that call� in the middle of the night. Deja was in the hospital. In case you don�t keep track, Deja is my sweet 6 year old granddaughter. She is funny, she is smart as a whip and when she showed signs at the age of two of being a total wise-ass, I told my daughter Lori, �Hahaha! You are raising your mother!� She is a very big part of my world.

Wednesday night, Lori had a bond to do. Her regular babysitter was told to be there at 8:30 so Lori could leave. Around 7:30, the client called back and told Lori they had the money and could she come now.

Lori took the 3 girls up the street to my sister, Stella�s house and left. Stella was home alone, so she volunteers. When the babysitter got there around 8:15, Stella told the girls to get their coats to leave. They all got on the coats and at the last minute, Deja said she had to go get the picture she had drawn. She had left it in the living room.

Stella followed her into the living room and just about the time she got to the couch, she said she was tired and needed a nap. At that point, she fell forward onto the couch and was out like a light. Totally unconscious.

She is just like me. I can lay down and tell Terry I am going to sleep and be snoring within 2 minutes. No word of a lie. I do this on a regular basis. I say goodnight at the end of one program and am sound asleep before the next show starts.

So when Deja does this, is isn�t usually alarming. Or is didn�t use to be. It is now.

Stella tried to wake her up and just figured she was really tired and told the babysitter to leave her there and Lori could come get her when she got home. The babysitter took the other two home and called Lori. By this time, it was about 9 or 9:30. When the babysitter called Lori, she called Stella and told her she was on the way and to wake up Deja. Stella tried to wake her for 10 minutes. She shook her gently and it did nothing. All of a sudden Deja stopped breathing. She flipped her up and hit her on the back and Deja sputtered a second and started breathing again. Stella lay her back on the couch and Deja starred up at the ceiling, not moving. Stella grabbed the phone and called Lori, who by this time was just around the corner. Lori flew up the street and got pulled over by the police. She just rolled the window down and yelled that her daughter was having some sort of seizure and she wasn�t going to stop. He waved her on and followed her to the house. (God Bless our cops!) They got to the apartment and though Deja was breathing, she was paralyzed.

Medcu was called and after 4 hours in the ER, Deja has been diagnosed with Narcolepsy with paralyzing seizures.

She was fine about an hour after they got there.

She has an appointment with a pediatric Neurologist at Hasbro Children�s hospital as soon as they can fit her in. I pray it is soon.

They told Lori that it is inherited. I always joked about the fact that I can sleep almost on command. I never thought it might be a neurological condition. The doctor seems to think it is. He also thinks that Lori being able to sleep within 3 minutes of sitting down if she wants to is also possible a form of it.

Narcolepsy is usually diagnosed between adolescents and 30 years old.

A few years ago I was tested for apnea. I went to sleep within 3 minutes of them starting the test. This was while being hooked up to about 15 electrodes and being strapped around my legs and waist. I always thought it was a gift.

Aside from the obvious terror of Deja falling asleep while walking across the street, or in the tub, is that Lori asked the doctor if this is a good thing, that she was diagnosed to early. No. The fact that she was diagnosed early only means that the symptoms are going to show themselves earlier. This is a condition that does not get better with age. It gets worse.

I am beside myself with worry. I hate that we won�t even have any answers for at least a week or so. I hate this is happening to one of my babies.

I only hope that with all the modern medicine and technology going on today in brain research, that there will be good news with the rest of what we are told.

One other note. After all this and not getting home to be until after 1:00a.m., Lori asked Deja what she wanted to do the next day when she finally woke up. She got her wish. Lori drove her to school. The kid is tough, I tell ya.

But I'm scared to death.

Later�

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen