Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Sunday, May. 06, 2007 12:25 P.M.

Sticking up for friends.

For those of you who are so frustrated that you may not be reading updates, I am posting the latest news from Andrew. Do I believe it? Damn straight.

server thing Just wanted to add a quick note about non-gold members not being able to add entries: This *should* be over tonight (sunday). I cannot say for 100% sure, but it should be. I should have updated sooner, but since we had to take this down, it keeps looking like it's about to be fixed and then something goes wrong. Here is the situation: Basically, one of the database servers conked out last week, as explained here. Getting it back up and running with all the data has taken a long time, because it seemed like it was fixed and back up, but then had problems while being tested. We currently can't have everyone adding entries all at once, because it slows down the server to point where it's messing things up. Maybe if anything goes wrong with getting it back up today, I will set it so like half the people can add entries for 30 minutes then vice versa or something. I understand this is a big inconvenience for non-gold members, and believe me, I am not happy about this whatsoever. I started this site back in 1999 and since it has been running, there have been a few server problems here and there. They are annoying, but they happen.

This is not a big corporate site with millions of dollars behind it. Diaryland is essentially run by one person, and believe me, I don't do it for the money. I want everything back up as much as you. I have received snide and rude emails about the situation, and while I appreciate your frustration, it's really dispiriting to run a site for people for years, and have them use it happily, and then when there is an interruption for a few days get pounded on.

Anyone who thinks that I am not 1000% more annoyed at the situation than anyone else doesn't know me. The situation will be fixed soon, I just ask that people be patient in the meantime, thanks.

posted by andrew. 11:59 a.m. - May. 06, 2007

As some you know, one person paying for and doing customer service for a site this huge site is an awesome responsibility, not to mention a huge financial burden. I know I sound like I am sticking up for Andrew, and I guess I am. For over 5 years, Andrew has felt like a friend and that's what friends do.

Updated from original post. Andrew does have a friend named Sammy and his wife to help him. I stand corrected.

Updated again. Yes, Sammy is his wife. Sorry, I get confused. Leave me alone, I'm old.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen