Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, May. 15, 2004 11:19 P.M.

E-mail and the funnies

I�ve had it!

I am sick and tired of getting e-mails that say:

E-mail sent by komickaren @ yahoo.com to people I don�t know @ wherever.com cannot be delivered.

Sick, Sick, Sick of it! I do not send e-mails to people that I make up in my head. Talk to them, maybe, but I never send them e-mails. They don't have computers anyway.

I don�t know what Yahoo�s problem is, or even if it�s Yahoo exclusively or everybody but I am tired of it. I am also tired of the spam, the junk and the rest of it. Since I want to use e-mail, I am going to stop using my yahoo account and start using my outlook express again. So if I am listed in any of your address books, please change my addy to karenkmurray@(removethis).net . Sorry, but I have more control this way. Also, I am deleting my yahoo account after I let everyone know. This sucks, as I have had this addy for 2 years and changing it with the banks etc. Is as bad as changing my name, but eh, a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do. So anyway, please don�t send anything to komickaren anymore. She�s not long for this world. Thanks.

Oh, now that I am cleaning house cyberwise, if you see guestbook signings or comments from just plain old Cosmic from now on, that would be me. I am getting lazy in my old age. Since you all call me Cosmic anyway, I am going to start calling myself that. In fact, I think I will see if that name is taken and just start another one in that name. hmmmm. busy, busy, busy.


We finally watched my taped Carol Burnett special. It was fantastic! It more than made up for the Dick Van Dyke Show. I have really great memories of Carol Burnett as a kid. When I was little, she and Lucille Ball were my idols. I thought they were so funny.

I learned when I was small that if you were the poor kid, the kid with all the brothers and sisters on welfare, that other kids could be very cruel. I could walk into a room and within 5 minutes, someone was saying something mean and the other kids would laugh. I also learned as a kid that the best defense was a good offense. Nobody was going to look out for me, but me.

I developed a great trick. I would walk into a room where the area was a minefield (aka rich kids, cheerleaders, kids with a two parent families) and tell a joke. They would all laugh (my jokes were good) and I would just walk off and leave �em laughing. The �trick� was that I could never be sure if they were laughing at me or my joke. I chose to believe they were laughing at my joke. It was a delusion sometimes, but survival was my game.

Watching Carol and Lucy taught me how to deliver the joke, (Maybe it came naturally) and how to act all weird and goofy when the joke called for it. It must have worked because at 50 (51 next month, ouch!) whenever we hear a joke at work, I am the one elected to re-tell it to anyone that comes in. I have to admit, I would loved to have been a standup comic. Maybe I will when I grow up.

I only wish that these two great ladies could know how much influence they had in my life and how they protected me from "THEM".

Later�

PS, I probably shouldn't write an entry after 3 whiskey and cokes. I give out way too much information. Eh.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen