Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Friday, May. 28, 2004 8:46 A.M.

vacation

V-A-C-A-T-I-O-N!

Yup! I am on vacation until a week from Monday!

Someone asked me yesterday where I am going. I answered, �My computer�. That is the land of web page making, button making and relaxation. Hey, different strokes for different folks. It works for me.

Sister Stella and I are having a yard sale tomorrow. I don�t have a whole lot to sell off, but it�s a good excuse to hang out in the yard, get some sun and toss back a few. So today I will be spending hauling everything into the living room that isn�t nail down and that I haven�t used in 6 months. That is a good way to avoid the �Pack-rat- syndrome. I was one for years. But that philosophy of getting rid of things you haven�t used in 6 months really works.

Hubby and I watched Lord of the Rings / Fellowship of the Rings last night. Tonight we are watching Two Towers. I received Return of the King on Tuesday, but we don�t want to watch it until we see the other two again. It was amazing watching the first one last night and realizing how much we had forgotten.

We are both LOTR junkies. We are Harry Potter junkies too. I love that society has deemed it OK to be followers of these two series at any age. I don�t feel quite so immature.

I am cleaning out and selling off the rest of my movies that are not fantasy/sci-fi or children�s. I will forever keep my SHREK (No, I haven�t got SHREK II yet), Finding Nemo and the Disney movies I have managed to collect.

I have a few others that don�t fall into those categories that I will never part with either. My copies of Titanic and Gone With The Wind are two. There are just some movies that can be watched again and again that I never tire of. I could list the others on E-bay, but they don�t fetch much, especially after counting in the listing fees.

My ordering of the Return of the King completes my obligation with Columb#bia house. I am free at last! That is a great deal in the beginning, but I hate paying $24.95 for a movie that I can buy up at Blockbuster for $19.99. And having to remember to send in that stupid director refusal every month is a PITA (pain in the ass)!

Yes, I did it online, easy enough, but still a pain. I get a kick out of what the say when you finish buying all you have to under the contract. �You are now a preferred buyer and will now be eligible for some great deals!�

Ya, great deals. That means that if I want, I can now get as many as I want for 50% off if I buy one at regular price. OK, let�s look at that. I can go up to Blockbuster and buy a copy of three movies from say a year ago, for approximately $45.00. OR, I can stay with CH and pay $19.95 for my first movie and $10.00 each for the other 2 which makes $40.00 plus another $10.00 shipping for a total of $50.00.

Yup, I�m preferred. I�m preferred if I am dumb enough to pay more and think I�m special. Nope, I don�t think so. I cancelled. And I don�t know if you ever noticed, but when you join one of these clubs you get anywhere from 4 to 6 for $.01 in the beginning. But what you aren�t told is that those 4 to 6 you get to pick are never new releases and the shipping is jacked up so high that by the time you get those and then the 3 that you have to buy at �regular club prices� it comes out to just about the same as it would have if you had gotten them at Blockbuster.

The same holds true for the �Preferred Customers�. You can�t get the new releases for the 50%. Nope, only the movies THEY pick. I am only missing a few that I want.

Movies Unlimited dot com is a great place for movies. They run about $15.00 to $19.00 but they only charge $3.50 per movie for economy shipping and you have it in a week or so. If you are looking for a movie from years ago, chances are, they will have it.. Gee, I didn�t plan on this post turning into an advertisement, it�s just that I have dealt with these people and they are great.

Well, it�s time for coffee number two and then get my butt in gear. You all have a great week end.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen