Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Sunday, Aug. 19, 2007 1:59 P.M.

Changes in the Wind

This is an update to let you in on what has been going on in my world. It is all great stuff. I am feeling stronger ever day. I am doing what I need to be doing at this point in my life.

You are all very important to me. Do not ever underestimate how important you are. But at this time, I cannot be sitting still for long periods. I have to keep moving and breathing and getting healthy. I can�t spend all day sitting on the computer or anywhere. I have given up trying to catch up right now. I am sorry, but that is how it has to be for now. My days are now spent walking around the house, cleaning everything in sight and taking short sitting breaks in between.

I am still smoke free, but common sense tells me that I am in the honeymoon phase of the quitting. I imagine one morning, (though I am wearing the patch) I will wake up and want a cigarette. I don�t yet. I really don�t. But when that happens, I have every hope that I can bitch-slap that thought back to where it belongs.

I am concentrating on good eating, good breathing, (Yes, still on the oxygen) and getting out and among the living again. I plan on grabbing my portable oxygen tank and jumping in my car tomorrow for a ride. I may not get out of my car, but baby steps, folks. I have to drive. I have to be alone and know I can do it without any panic. I can do this. I am, after all, the gutsy (not to be confused with gusty) grandma.

I have found the secret of not wanting a cigarette after eating. You just don�t stop eating. I haven�t. When I went into the hospital, I weighed 157 pounds. I am now 146. Yes folks. I have been eating tootsie roll pops, mints, every fruit and veggie under the sun and have lost 11 pounds. I am not trying to lose weight. It is happening all on it�s own. What I am not eating is, lots of bread, bagels, muffins, lots of pasta or anything fried. I am making sure I eat a cereal and fruit every morning, lunch and diner every day and a fruit for morning and afternoon shack. I have a half cup of ice cream or pudding every night. I am a poster child for nutrition, except for all the sugar stuff. I don�t care about the sugar. My energy levels couldn�t be higher if I were on speed. I am up at 7 and go to bed at 11:00 or 12:00. I am pretty much sleeping all night unless the water pills wake me, but that isn�t often. The really amazing thing is that I am only taking breathing meds three times a day. This is miraculous. I never thought I would be feeling this good again in my life.

I have also decided that though the one suggestion I had for my invisible dog was a good one, (Air Dale by Golfwidow) I have decided to name him Air Bud. I also don�t want to get too attached to him (pun intended) because I hope to kill him off eventually. I have decided that being on oxygen for the rest of my life in unacceptable. I am going to prove the doctors and statistics wrong. Well, not all the doctors. My primary care doctor has said from the beginning that it could be temporary.

I have written all this out as a personal diary for my future reference as well as to update you all.

That all being said, I am designing a new diary page. It will still probably be boring 3 column tables, but I am losing the old lady. I have to get rid of her. She is bringing me down. She is dark, and old, and gloomy. I need fresh, light and new birth right now. I need bright and fruity and foo-foo smelly. I need girly and young. I am 54. I am a grandmother. I am not dead, I am not going anywhere anytime soon and I have to get my head out of the golden years mode and into the middle-aged mode. I have been living old for too long. I will revisit the old lady and my golden years when I hit 75. That�s soon enough.

I�ll see ya when the new page is ready for the grand opening. It shouldn�t be too long.

Catch ya later. I�m going for a walk. Out doors. In the world.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen