Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2004 7:59 P.M.

Brrr and Better Late than Never

It�s official: ... FROST ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT TONIGHT... WIDESPREAD FROST IS EXPECTED LATE TONIGHT AND EARLY WEDNESDAY MORNING ACROSS MOST OF SOUTHERN NEW ENGLAND... OUTSIDE OF THE BOSTON URBAN AREA... CAPE COD... BLOCK ISLAND AND NANTUCKET. EVEN THE UPPER CAPE... HOWEVER... COULD EXPERIENCE PATCHY FROST. TEMPERATURES ARE EXPECTED TO FALL INTO THE LOW TO MID 30S BY DAYBREAK WEDNESDAY. LIGHT WINDS AND CLEAR SKIES WILL MAKE THE ENVIRONMENT RIPE FOR WIDESPREAD FROST.

SUMMER AND FALL ARE OVER!!!

But the good news is, I am officially now into the 21st century! I know this may not be a big deal to most of you, but I am always the last one to get with the program.

1969 � bellbottoms. Hated them. Predicted they would go out of style. Preferred my jeans and oxfords shirts thinking they would never go out of style and do to this day. I think I called that one pretty well. At least the jeans part.

1972 � refused to jump on the midi-skirt bandwagon. I had decent legs and refused to cover one of my few assets. I could only hope that fad would die. It did, pretty much.

1978 � spent way too much on a Cabbage Patch Doll, thinking they would be worth something someday. (Aha!) Olga Regan is still in pretty decent shape and doing well, thank you.

1984 � son Jeff saved his money and came home with a CD-player. I knew CD�s were a fad and they wouldn�t last. They were too thin and didn�t weigh anything. Give me my tapes! (Ya, blew that one big time.)

1986 � Started buying up record albums knowing they would be valuable when the CD fad died and I was the only one that still had some. (noticing a pattern here yet?)

Somehow, I started out being able to spot a keeper and then went through this era of being out of sync with the world. In my own defense, I didn�t spend $3,000.00 to $5,000.00 when everyone started buying computers. Ok, so back then, I couldn�t even afford a second hand car, but still.

But I have grown. I have regained insight. I have been re-born into the electronic age. Our home now shares space with two computers, two VCRs, a DVD player and a CD player. But that is not all, my friends. Not at all.

5 years ago, hubby lost his legs. We handicap equipped his car so he could run about without me and all that was left was a phone so he would have help at his fingertips in case he broke down. If the car dies, his wheelchair carriage won�t work so he would be stuck in the car, God forbid. So he got one.

For 5 years, he has tried to convince me that I need one.

Folks, I am never more than 10 steps away from another person. Even grocery shopping is 2 miles away and there are homes and businesses lining the main road from here to there. Why do I need one?

Well after 5 years, I finally gave in. Yes, I finally have my own cell phone! I didn�t want one. I didn�t need one. But guess what? It plays all kinds of different song rings. It has a calendar, it has an organizer, it has text messaging, it has call forwarding, it has voice mail, it even has wicked cool games!

Oh. They have been out now for about 10 years, huh? So you probably already knew all this, right? Most of you already have one hmmm?

Ok, nevermind.

Sheesh, will I EVER be first at anything? Probably not.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen