Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Friday, Dec. 10, 2004 7:01 A.M.

The REAL good news.

Ok, so I didn�t get a great deal on my car insurance from Geico. I lied. Geico won�t give us insurance, HA! Well, they would if I offered to give them my firstborn son or something. Nope. Anyway, when I joined AARP we DID really get one heck of a deal from their insurance, The Hartford. That Geico bit was a lie because I couldn�t tell you the really good news yet.

The good news is really great news, but it�s in a holding pattern right now. Here�s the story.

Hubby lost his legs almost 5 years ago. He signed up for disability here and after a year or so, he was approved. We recently (almost a year ago) found out that he should have been receiving one from England. He worked there for over 20 years before coming to America in 1978.

We filed the papers and have been watching as England needed info from the US, sent for it, waited..... waited...... waited. Needed more info from the US, sent for it, waited..... waited..... waited..... You get the picture.

We assumed that since he got a pretty decent amount from the US, that with reciprocity in place, the amount would be very small. We didn�t care. Anything was more than nothing and we could use it.

Well, lo and behold, two weeks ago we were told it had been approved! They didn�t know how much it was going to be, but in the words of the lady he deals with there, �You should have a very Merry Christmas. (Aside: You can tell Tony Blair does not work out of that office or we would have been told that we should have a very Merry Holiday Season�.)

So anyway, we go the check! Yay! We were happily surprised. This will pay off our big assed $700.00 TV, put oil in my daughters tank and give her some Christmas spending money(Merry Christmas, baby), pay off all our back taxes from the past 3 years, let us put away the first months rent and security deposit on our next apartment, pay for the movers to come in and move EVERYTHING while I sit and watch, buy me a new (not quite) car in the 4 to 5 thousand range, buy some decent Christmas presents and still have a little money to leave in the bank! Eeeeha!

The reason I didn�t post all this the other day was that we put said check into our good old neighborhood bank and are told now that it will take 2 to 6 weeks to convert from British Sterling to US dollars. So Christmas is on hold. I am not complaining. It is there. It is just out of reach. It still could happen before Christmas but it�s ok if it doesn�t.

The only bummer is that I found a nice 1997 Chevy Malibu with my name all over it. 70,000 miles and one owner. Beautiful car. They won�t hold it. Oh wait. That�s not entirely true. If I give them a $500.00 deposit they will, but it HAS to be paid off by the end of the year or I lose it. Ya, right! I told the guy that if I were to do that, on January first, I could be standing there with still no check, no car and be out my $500.00. I was born at night, but not last night. See ya later asswipe.

He said he felt really bad. Then he asked if I could borrow the money from someone. I think not. I told him that $5,000 cars are everywhere and I�d just keep looking. I bet I get a better deal somewhere else anyway. I do plan to go back on January 1st just to laugh when I see the car still sitting there. They haven�t sold it in 5 months. It will still be there.

So there you have it. My wonderful news. Yup, Maybe Christmas will be delayed, but with all our moving expenses safely tucked away, the weight of the world has been reduced to the weight of the town.

One other bit of news. My landlord told Terry the other day that if he sells his other property first, he may buy out his partner and keep this place. That means that we could just sit back and wait with no more pressure until the Handicapped unit becomes available. Pray for us. I already sent one potential buyer to him.

The days ahead will be very interesting.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen