Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Tuesday, Apr. 23, 2002 7:44 P.M.

Cold and Bones and Vacuums

Well, That was fun! I haven't updated for a few days because I wanted everyone to get a chance to see the Dopplegangers. I have two more to post, but will do it on the weekend. I have 14 in the album and two to do, but this is going to be an ever-growing project. If anyone hasn't sent me any pictures, feel free to anytime. I plan on leaving the link up.

**************

Remember when I said not to put those winter coats away? Huh? Remember? At least in New England, I WAS RIGHT! Damn, I LOVE it when that happens. I had my lined leather on today. It was cold! It hasn't hit 45, I don't think. My neighbor and I shared a garden last year. Last week he wanted to go buy plants. He and I are glad that I talked him out of it. I checked out the weather forecast for tonight. Just about 30 miles north of us are getting a frost. (I love it when I'm right.)

I love writing in here. I can come home and write a few lines, go make supper and come back and type some more and you never know how long it took. You also don't see me chewing my kielbasa. (Bet your glad about that.) Just for the record, my mouth is closed. My momma raised me right. She ad to insist on a few table manners. Imagine, if you would, six eating kids at one table. When we ate, we had best not be talking until all the food was chewed and swallowed. The problem with that was, if someone was, say, talking about the snowstorm from yesterday, by the time you chewed and chewed and swallowed, the topic had moved onto something else. Meals were sometimes just a bunch of one lined statements. That was IF we were even talking. To keep us quiet, my mom would pick up a pad of paper and start drawing one of us. She wouldn't let on which one she was drawing, but you knew if it was your picture, you had to sit very still and not move so she could get it right. And she would look at a different one of us each time her eyes left the paper, so you couldn't guess. My mom was a genius. What better way to keep six kids under the age of 13 as quiet as church mice and as still as the guards at Buckingham Palace? The woman was a genius.

Of course, the rules changed if we were having fish. We weren't allowed to talk when we had fish. Not one word. We had to concentrate on

"LOOKING OUT FOR THE BONES!!!"

I would almost panic if I got one in my mouth. I just KNEW that someday I would be talking instead of paying attention and I would be skewered from the throat to the groin like a shish-ka-bob and would hear my mother's voice saying from up in heaven,

"YOU WEREN'T WATCHING FOR THE BONES!!"

To this day, the only fish I eat is haddock. I figure I'm pretty safe there. Please don't tell me any different. Ignorance is, indeed, bliss.

Hubby bought me a new present. A new Oreck. Why? Because it is lightweight. The one I have been using was an accident. It almost cost hubby his life. Let me explain. About 3 years ago, I was the proud owner of a lightweight little canister vacuum. I love that vacuum. It was my friend.

Well one day hubby comes to me and announces that his vac is broken and asks if he can take mine to the job. He worked for himself doing painting and wallpapering. Being the wonderful person I am, I said sure. But! You better bring it back tonight.

Well he forgot it. I reminded him the next day. He forgot it. This went on for almost two weeks. I could make a dust filled comforter for a king-sized bed by that time. Well, he announced that he would be done that day at this job and he would most definitely be bringing the vacuum home after he got paid.

I came home from work that day and low and behold, in the middle of my living room was a brand spanking new, bright red, $200.00 Upright, bagless Dirt Devil with Hepa filter and all the bells and whistles. He sat on the couch with this smile on his face like that cat that swallowed the canary and said,

What do you think?"

My response?

(shaking my head) Ya broke my Fuckin' vacuum, didn't ya?"

Well for three years I have not let him forget it for a minute. The damn thing weighs about 30 pounds! I live in a duplex. You do the math. I HATE IT!

Well God bless the hubby. My new Oreck weighs 8 pounds and came with a free hand held canister vac for the stairs and the car, PLUS a cordless Oreck Iron! Woohoo!! Love that man of mine!!

I've said it before and I'll say it again. It doesn't take much to amuse me.

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen