Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Wednesday, Jun. 05, 2002 5:59 P.M.

These are a few of my favorite things.

Hi all.

I just finished cooking dinner. I can't take any credit for it. Opened a jar of Ragu, threw in some frozen meatballs and cooked spaghetti. No-brainer. The only reason I mention it at all is because it started a dialog between hubby and I that I just have to tell you about. He was going to fix it tonight. (we take turns sometimes.) He threw on the sauce and tossed in the meatballs and came into the living room. He told me the sauce was all set. I asked if the spaghetti was on and he told me no, because he never knows how long to cook it. He said he either undercooks it, or overcooks it. Ok, not a problem. I went out and cooked it. As it was cooking, I had a flash from the past memory and found myself chuckling to myself. I told him and he thought I was nuts. Well, maybe I am, but it got me to thinking about other things I did as a kid, or my mom did. See if any of these sound familiar to your own growing up experiences.

First is the one that got me called �nuts�

1. To check and see if spaghetti is done, Throw it up in the air. If it sticks to the ceiling, it�s done.
2. Desert, when we had it, consisted of cookies that were yellow on one side and brown on the other with creme in the middle.
3. Favorite soft drink was Moxie
4. Picked out our Christmas list from the Fingerhut, Spiegal, or Sears catalog. (No such thing as Toys-R-Us)
5. Dried our mittens on the spray painted radiators.
6. Played flashlight tag.
7. Drank Postum because it tasted like coffee.
8. Made pop-cicles out of plastic cups and kool-aid.
9. If we were playing off our street, we had to be home when the streetlights came on.
10. We would hang around the kitchen when mom made bread to make sure we got the heel.
11. Ate horsemeat because it was cheaper than hamburger.
12. We would sit in the living room and watch TV. Mom would tell us we couldn�t come into the kitchen. That meant she was making something good. It was either fudge, whoopie pies or chocolate frosting between Graham crackers.
13. I would watch my mom every time she put on her make-up because when her bright red lipstick got down to about 1/4 inch, she would give it to me.
14. I would save all my money to buy her perfume for Christmas. We called it toilet water then and it was terrible. But she would wear it around the house until it was gone. She must have really loved it because it seemed to disappear really soon.
15. Someone would hear my prayers every night.

Just some memories that can still make me smile.

A new thingy for gold members and I had to jump on the bandwagon. I added my picture to my profile and I am deleting my Favorite's page and just keeping my profile updated with all of you. I will be adding comments slowly but surely to the names. It might take a while.Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen