Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Friday, Jun. 14, 2002 7:21 A.M.

Brother's coming!!

Hi all.

I have a busy week-end planned so I thought I would stick in a little note here so you will know if I don't post again till Sunday.

My brother is coming from Maine for a couple of days. This is great because I only get to see him a couple times a year. He is coming to visit but also for me to check his paperwork. See, brother dear is getting a divorce. This is a good thing, as they have been separated for 2 years and have both moved on with their lives.

Since he is from the good old State of Maine (applause, applause) he is getting his divorce Pro Se. For those of you who don't speak Latin or Law, that is to say that he is acting as his own attorney. You don't need a lawyer in Maine for a divorce if both parties agree to it. Total cost? $55.00. It's $5.00 for all the paperwork, then you fill them out, serve the subpoena yourself and then pay the $50.00 filing fee. Wait 60 days and Whalah! You are single again. Cuts out a lot of the garbage and costs.

I was the first one to get a Pro Se divorce in the the State of Maine waaaaaaaaay back in 1974. Back then it was a bit easier. Total cost was $17.00 and that included the cost of having the Sheriff serve tha papers. Now you save a lot of trouble but the papers have gone from $.50 to $5.00 and the filing fee has gone from $10.00 to $50.00. It still beats the hundreds of dollars it would cost if you hired an attorney.

I used to do all the paperwork for people when I lived in Maine. Back then I used to get $20.00 for doing that. The last time I did it, The couple gave me $100.00. But the paperwork has gone from 5 forms to fill out to about 15. I have done around 12. I would only do it if both people really wanted it though. I was asked once to for it for this guy. His wife cried the whole time I was talking to them. I couldn't do it. I only did happy divorces where we would all go out after and celebrate. My kind of party! Seriousley though. I would only help if it was mutual.

After doing 3 or 4 of them, I started feeling like the angel of death. So decided to even the scales a little and became a Notary Public. In Maine, you can perform weddings as a Notary. I did about 7 weddings before leaving Maine. I wish I could perform them here in Rhode Island, but the laws are different. I called the town hall when I first moved here and asked if either a Justice of the Peace or a Notary could perform weddings. I was told a notary could only witness legal documents and such. Ok, I asked what a Justice of the peace can do. Are you ready for this? In this state, about all you can do as a Justice of the Peace is "Quell Riots"! ya, just what I want to do. Pay $40.00 to have the right to walk into a crowd of pissed off people to quiet them down. I don't think so. The only people besides clergy that can perform weddings are court appointed people. One of these days, I am going to check it out. I would love to do that again. It is fun and you always get invited to the reception and we already know how I feel about FREE FOOD!

I was invited to a wedding this week-end. ibepiglet is getting married to MOTH. I would love to go, but my pursestrings won't stretch as far a Chicago. I can only wish them the best of luck from afar. They don't need luck though. If you read their diaries, you already know they have it all.

I guess I have to sharpen my darts when I get home today. We will be hitting the bar tonight, I'm sure. You all have a great week-end and I'll catch you on Sunday.

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen