Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Tuesday, Jul. 23, 2002 6:47 A.M.

Oh, Woe is Me!

I spent all week'end working on this POS and finally had to call in the big guns. Yup, At 4:30 yesterday afternoon, I called the Computer guy. Luckily, I have sent many customers his way and even got him doing all our repairs at work, so I hoped he would give me a break. Before he even came out, I asked what the charge would be. He said if he could just come in, fix it up and get out of here, he would only charge me $45.00. Trust me, that's cheap.That would have been nice if that was the way it had gone. Unfortunately, I think I should re-name myself Murphy. This guy is very good with computers, mind you. He came in, sat down and two hours later came out with the two words nobody wants to hear from their computer guy,

"BEATS ME!"

The really frustrating part was that as I sat and watched him, I couldn't help but notice that he didn't do one thing that I hadn't already done. Over two hours. He offered to take it home and work on it and I said never mind so he said he will come back today and try a few more things. Worse case scenario, he will totally wipe out the hard drive and rebuild. The good news is that if he does that, I can go bact to windows 98. I hate the Windows Me version.

I tried doing a complete restore with my restore disc, but it didn't take it back to the original settings, it just took it back to the last time I did a restore. That makes no sense. Anyway, he will be back today. I fear when this is done, it will have cost me as much as a new computer. I plan on stopping at Rent-a-POS on the way home and see what kind of deal I can get. Maybe my computer guy will buy this one off me. At this point, I don't even give two shits I am so pissed.

I love my yahoo games. I play JT's Blocks and Slingo with my sisters online. Now those come up so odd that after two or three minutes my eyes start going screwy. If I stayed on it another 5 minutes, I would end up with a freakin migraine.

Speaking of headaches, I got my results back. My x-ray did indeed show COPD, which is a fancy name for emphesyma or cronic bronchitis. As for my situation, I have both. My doctor is giving me a months supply of an anti anxiety med. Cele-something. It's new. It's in the Zoloft/Prozac family, but not as strong. He says it will have the same results as the welbutrin. Welbutrin is the same exact med as Zyban for smoking cessation. It just isn't quite as strong. I can't take the zyban because it does weird stuff to me. I can't explain it, suffice it to say that it is too strong. I asked him about wanting to sleep all the time and he thinks it is sort of an aftermath of the past 3 years. Sort of a meltdown. So this med should have me relaxed, but give me my energy back. Aftermath. Huh. Hubby has had a ton of surgeries in the past three years. We stopped counting at 17. I have had a double mastectomy. Gee, think it could be a meltdown of sorts?? Go figure. And I thought I had been dealing with it rather well. We both agree that since I HAVE been dealing with it so well, that the stress and anxiety had to rear it's ugly head somehow. It could be worse. I haven't had any deep urges to kill anyone, I haven't turned to drugs, I haven't been moved to injure small animals and I haven't (though the thought has crossed my mind) run away to join the circus. Yup, It could have been worse. So I will be ok. I did ask the doctor if I have to do anything about the emphesyma. He said if I quit smoking now (within the next few weeks) that I can build my lungs back up to a point that is almost mormal. I can't reverse it, but I can halt it's progression and even increase my capacity with exercise after I quit. Sounds like a plan. Years ago I was diagnosed with early stage emphesyma. I inherited it from dear old dad. THe only thing he ever gave me. But being yound and indestructable, I figured it wouldn't get any worse. I am now at the severe stage. If it gets to Final stage, I will not live a very happy life. So we stop it here. I am going to start the meds tonight and set myself a quit date. Hubby knows this isn't just a pissing contest. He knows that when I quit, there will be no smoking in the house. It's a matter of my health and he supports that. Thank goodness it is summertime. He can go outside. It won't kill him. Maybe it will become enough of a hassle for him that he will quit too. I can dream.

Well, I won't bore you anymore with my tales of woe. I hope to be either fixed, or on a new computer by the week-end but at least I can see to update my diary. I will catch you all tomorrow. Have a wonderous day!

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen