Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006 10:59 A.M.

Sunday Morning Coming Down

First, a movie review. We watched King Kong last night. For color and scenery, it gets a 10. For special effects, it�s off the charts. That�s the upside. For acting, I give it a 7. It could have been much better.

For storyline and plot, we all knew it anyway, but I will still give it a 6. I would give it a higher rating, but I am not feeling very generous. But for stretching out scenes it is in a class of it�s own. The 3 hours and 7 minutes could have been a better movie, IMHO if it were 2 hours and say, 15 minutes.

Some of the scenes were overplayed, over acted and overkill. They omitted some of the scenes from the original, but basically kept it intact, to their credit.

SPOILER ALERT! BEGIN SPOILER�

It never showed how they got him on the freighter. There were only about 7 guys at this point. In the original, they had about 100 natives helping.

END SPOILER ALERT

So why, may I ask, did I stayed glued to this for the whole thing? Because it was amazing! Usually when I am watching a movie, I am also updating here, playing pogo or some other thing that takes my eyes away for short intervals. After the third time that I rewound because Terry said I had missed something, I turned my chair around and sat transfixed to the screen. It has a hypnotic feel to it. It�s like passing an accident on the highway. Though you don�t know anybody and it will probably be unpleasant to look at, you just have to see.

On one hand, it would have been much better to have seen it at the theater, but on the other, I probably would have been deaf for 6 months. Thank God for volume control.

Bottom line�. If you haven�t seen it, rent it. Well worth your time. I know I kind of sound wishy-washy but I have never seen a movie that I both loved and didn�t as much as this one. Maybe I should change my name to SiskelandEbert.

Thanks to la-the-sage I have picked up the draft of my novel and started writing in it again. She has re-inspired me. I need to finish this. I don�t expect it to sell much, I really don�t. That�s not the reason I need to finish it. I need to because I started it. I have cornered the market on procrastination. I was a procrastinator as a kid and I am a procrastinator as an adult. I will tell you why someday. See? I just can�t stop myself.

Anyway, I just need to finish this. There have been few things in my life that I did finish. It surprised even me. I finished college, albeit it took 2 � years to finish a 2 year program but I finished it. I finished Basic Training, though they made me. It wasn�t really by choice. I finished raising kids. Again, that wasn�t really in my control, though it was choice. They still would have grown up either way. And I finished my Web Site Design course. As you can see, I do have my priorities.

But that said, the novel sits unfinished. Actually, one could say it is finished. It has a beginning, a middle and an end. But at only 130 pages on my word program, I am thinking it needs a lot more stuffing. I went to an editing site this morning and by their standard of the average paperback, mine is in the ballpark now. I still have some things to add to it, but I kind of like how it is shaping up. Thank you NaNoWriMo!! They got me started a few years ago and it sat on a disc until now. I have pulled it out and I�m back to work on it in earnest.

Well, back to work. Oh, I took this quiz below. I think I like it. It gives me incentive. I can�t remember who posted it first, but thank you!

You scored as Journalism. You are an aspiring journalist, and you should major in journalism! Like me, you are passionate about writing and expressing yourself, and you want the world to understand your beliefs through writing.

Journalism

92%

English

83%

Mathematics

75%

Philosophy

75%

Dance

67%

Theater

67%

Psychology

67%

Engineering

50%

Biology

42%

Sociology

42%

Anthropology

33%

Art

17%

Linguistics

17%

Chemistry

0%

What is your Perfect Major? (PLEASE RATE ME!!<3)
created with QuizFarm.com

|

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen