Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Sunday, Dec. 04, 2005 9:28 A.M.

ramble ramble

This is going to be just a bit of unconnected ramblings. Beware.

Sister Stella and Jeff moved away yesterday morning. I will miss them. I will miss going shopping with Stella. We had sort of a ritual on Saturday mornings. Oh well, as my buddy L-empress Says, �Life goes on.� Indeed it does, but a little sadder now.

It snowed last night and is still snowing now. It won�t amount to much, but it will be nice to watch it out the window as I set the tree up today. I know I have promised pics of the new place, but I still haven�t gotten to it.

I saw a coffee pot advertised this morning and it got me thinking. I saw something that for whatever reason, bugged me. Then I started thinking of other things that bug me and decided to make a list. These are probably things that will never change, but just thought I�d mention.

1. Why is it that coffeepots have numbers on the side to tell you how many cups are left but are so not realistic.? Mine claims to make 12 cups of coffee.

I measured it out. Do you know of anyone that drinks a cup of coffee that only holds 4 oz. anymore? Munchkins? My cup holds 12 oz. Allowing for cream, I pour 10. We fill the pot and get 4 � cups! So wrong.

2. Why in this world of diversity must I still have to deal with said measuring cup by turning it around to read it?

Yes, my measuring cup discriminates against left handed people. I have two options. I can try to lift a full 2 cup Pyrex measuring cup with my right hand, which is not comfortable or do all my cooking in metric measurements. Ain't gonna happen. So not fair.

3. (I�ve mentioned this one before) Why do the manufacturers insist on packaging items in that hard molded plastic stuff that you can only get apart with a chain saw or blow torch?

Do you have any idea, Mr. I-charge-way-too-much-for-my-items-because-I-have-to-cover-the-cost-of-packaging, how many steak knives I have ruined? How many scarred fingers I have because of you? You don�t care, do you? Up yours!

4. Why, oh why do they still insist on packaging 12 hot dog rolls in a pack knowing full well that hotdogs come in packages of 8?

Oh, the waste. And don't tell me to freeze them. Yuck.

5. Why do they still insist on selling those defrosting trays? You know the kind. Put a frozen steak on it and it will thaw in an hour.

Please don�t waste your money. It�s not necessary. Put that same steak on any thick metal surface and it will do the same thing. Don�t believe me? Put an ice cube on one. At the same time, put an ice cube in your cast iron frying pan. Watch them. Same defrosting time, folks.

Well that about does it. I am going to include one more thing. I stole borrowed this from Golfwidow

If you read this, if your eyes are passing over this right now, (even if we don't speak often) please post a comment with a COMPLETELY MADE UP AND FICTIONAL memory of you and me. It can be anything you want � good or bad � BUT IT HAS TO BE FAKE. When you're finished, post this little paragraph on your blog and be surprised (or mortified) about what people DON'T ACTUALLY remember about you.

Have at it. Go read hers, they are a riot. Others that were fun to read were acaldwell and d-manz


|




Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen