Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, Dec. 16, 2006 10:05 A.M.

Sit down, this will take a while.

Lots of things to talk about today. It has been a great week. First things first.

Thank you for all the cards!! They are coming in daily and I love it!! I think you should all have yours by now. Well, all except forty-plus, because I couldn�t remember your last name. I have it now, so yours in the mail today.

If you�ve sent me your address and haven�t received yours by Monday, please let me know.

Next on the agenda, do you have or know any small children that still believe in the magic of Santa? I received this from my niece in Arizona. Call 1-800-972-6242. It is a message from Santa for them to listen to. It changes every day. I have called, (of course) to check it before telling you. Give a listen and let your child call. Keep the little tykes in line for the next week, haha.

Lori�s SUV is in her yard as of last night. This is big news. This means that after 10 months, I HAVE MY CAR BACK!!! The only downside to this is, number one, not seeing my two youngest grandbabies every morning, and number two, not having my errand runner anymore. Lori has done everything from picking up our meds, to shopping to basically everything that required running for the past 10 months. I have supplied the gas to the car, but she has invested literally hours and hours of running for us.

She has also used it for her own running, though. Until last week, all her doctors and the kiddles doctors were 30 miles from here and her back doctors are more like 50. When I bought my car two years ago, it had 67,0000 miles on it. When she took it 10 months ago, it had 72,000 I think. And she put most of them on. Aside from grocery shopping and work, I don�t really go anywhere. Now? Drumroll�������������� 94,000!!! Granted, many, many are for things she did for me, but geeze Louise, not all of them.

But now I can go out and get in MY CAR whenever I want and go. No more waiting every morning for her to pick me up for work. (She fell back to sleep 3 times and I was late.) She would drive up and get in the passenger side. I would drive myself to work and we would reverse this after work. Every time. Every time, I would have to adjust the seat and mirrors. Every time, I would have to take her CD out and put in mine. Every time, I would see kids jackets, papers and what-not throughout my car. No more! No more!! It�s mine. Mine! All mine!!!! (Sorry, I get a little giddy, just thinking about it.) Moving right along.

Want to know how to tell you�re getting old? This happened this week at work. There are 4 of us women working there, I am 53, Charl is 58, Bosslady and Jan are 67. We were all in the conference room sitting at the table and I made this astute observation:

You know your getting old when instead of standing around the water cooler yakking about your latest hot date or the party from the night before, you are all taking turns taking your blood pressure. Yup, we be getting old.

And last but not least, yet another proof positive we are getting old.

We (the Housing Authority) pick up little inexpensive Christmas presents for the mailman, the lady that brings payroll, the water guy, etc. Usually, it is cookies or candy in pretty tins or boxes. They are placed on the conference table and whoever sees the person when they come in this last two weeks will give them their gift.

We also have commercial washers and driers in the laundry on both sites. The man comes once a week, collects the money and the company sends us a check for half the amount they collect. This is a great system. Our elderly get a good deal on their wash, and the money pays for the rental. They also maintain the machines.

So yesterday, bosslady is out at a meeting. The guy comes is for the master key to go and collect the money. I went into bossladies office, where the keys are kept. Out of the corner of my eye, I see one present still left on the edge of the conference table. I turned around and mouthed the words to Jan, �We give him a present, right?� She nodded yes. I went in and picked up the present and walked to the counter. As I passed Jan�s desk, her eyes got wide and she quickly shook her head, �No!�

Well, by this time, I was only five or six feet from the counter with present still in hand. Al was looking at me, I was looking at Al. I did the only thing I could do. I walked up and handed him the key and the gift and said, �Merry Christmas, Al.�

The look on his face was amazing. His eyes got as big as saucers and his mouth dropped open. Then he cam out with perhaps the saddest line I have heard in a while. �Gee, I�ve been doing this job for 15 years and I�ve never gotten a present from anyone on my route. Thank you. Thank you so much!�

I just smiled and said, �Well, Al. I guess it was about time.� He was still smiling as he walked out the door.

Of course, as soon as Al left, us girls fell into a fit of laughter. I had just given Al the last present which was supposed to be given to Bob that does our inspections. He was due at any minute. Luckily, Boss lady came back and after hearing of my generous nature story, went out and purchased another gift for Bob. Though she didn�t find as much humor in the story as the rest of us, she finally smiled.

Jan thought I had asked if I should give him the key, not the present. This is amusing because I had given him the key every month for the past 12 years. Why would I ask now? That�s what she heard though. Yup, first thing to go is the hearing.

A little post script here. About the third year I worked there, he came in one day and I walked up to give him the key and as usual, I said, �It�s the Mac-othername of company guy� Then, why I don�t know, I said, �Hey Mr. Mac-othername of company guy, I bet you have a name all your own, don�t you?�

�Yes�, he said, �My name is Al, but I think you are possibly the only one that knows that.�

So Al got a Christmas present this year. Al feels special this year. I am truly happy for Al. Al will get a present every year from now on.

Al�s well that ends well.

Price of extra gift? $10.00
Price of embarrassment at screwing up? $0. (I�m only human)
Look on Al�s face and feeling I got for making that man smile? Pricelesss.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen