Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, Feb. 22, 2003 8:24 A.M.

The day after..

Yesterday was the day from Hell. I don't remember ever in my life hearing more bad news in a 24 hour period. The first thing was, of course, waking up to the news of the fire here. It is actually about 20 minutes from me. The death toll is now up to 96 and will probably end up higher. Some of the people that were hospitalized are in grave and critical status. Sor far, at least 3 were from Westerly but at 5:30, they had only identified 10 of the 95 so there may be more.

From there the day got progressivly worse. I got to work and got more bad news. I work in a very small office. There is boss lady, Jan, Carl, and me and then there are two maintainence men, Pete and Dean. Dean was not at work when I got there and after a few minutes of discussing the fire, my boss tells us that Dean will not be in. His mother suffered a massive heart attack yesterday morning and died. We are a very close bunch. I have spoken to his mom many times.

Next, I hear the news about the explosion on the barge. But when it first came over the radio, all we hear was about the bridge to NJ being closed due to an explosion. My Brother Ed, lives right in that area of NJ. Fortunately for me, it was later amended to a point where I knew that it wasn't even nnear where Ed lived.

By 2:00 the dust had settled on all the news and Charl gets a phone call from someone. Charl's 47 year old sister had been taken to the hospital. She suffered a stroke. Thank GOd, they said it was a very minor one and she is going to be fine. No after effects, it seems. Lots of test will be done in the next few weeks but she is going home today.

I never ever want to go through another day like that for the rest of my life. It was so bad that at 5:30 my phone rang and I was afraid to answer it. I went to bed consumed with a saddness I haven had in a very long time.


Well, today is another day and I started by making one terrivic tasting cup of coffee and now I am writing to all of you. I haven't turned on the TV yet. So at least for the first hour, my day is nice. I can not even imagine what it like this morning for others.

The weather is going to be crazy today. We are supposed to get lots of rain. The good news? It will be warm enough to get rid of a bunch of the snow. The bad news? Lots of flooding expected. I am high up so I won't see and of it but downtown is going to be a river. I have nothing planned for today except to run out to the store and make a payment on my diamond ring. I can't wait to get it.


We got a new mattress last night. Terry had not been sleeping at all because our old standard matress has bitten the proverbial dust. We are going to try alternate sleeping. We bought a big ole air mattress. Thank goodness, it comes with it's own electric pump. This should be interesting. I just hope I can sleep on it. Years ago Lori, my daughter bought herself a waterbed. She was going to be gone for the weekend so I decided to sleep in it. I woke the next morning and had to literally peel the sheet off my thighs and it left my legs and butt a very bright red. I tried the next night and put three blankets under the sheet. Same results. So I don't know if I was alergic tothe vinyl mattress or the combination of that and the water. So we are keeping the old mattress around long enough to make sure I can use it. The good news is that We bought it from Popular Club so if I can't use it, they take it back, no questions asked. I really hope it works out. Terry has got to get some relief here.

Well, I'm going to get my butt in gear and do something productive. You all have a good weekend

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen