Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2003 4:58 P.M.

Heat and Ants and Childhood Games

Well 2 days in a row that it's been over 90 degrees. Ain't that special! *insert sarcastic sneer here*

The following is a rant of major proportions. Remove any children from the area before proceeding any futher.

Damn, damn damn! We just had the winter of all mother's with record cold and more snow than the last 5 years combined. This winter from hell is followed by the spring from hell when the temperature seldom got above 60 and we had rain for about 25 out of 45 days and then when you don't think that summer is ever going to arrive, you go from 50 to 90 in 24 hours!! Hell, I've never had a car move that fast!!!! This is not funny! Ok, I admit, I'm whining again, but I hate heat and humidity!!!! In my opinion, optimum weather is 72 degrees with about 70% humidity. We had that once. I think it was in June of 1968.

The heat might not bother me so much if I hadn't been an idiot back in September. Ahhh, I remember it well. Picture it. Westerly, Rhode Island, September 2, 2003. Your's truly paying out $500.00 for a Toyota Corolla, when the owner says,

"By the way, there is no A/C in this, the stuff ran out."

Whereapon your's truly says,

"Hey, no problem. I can live without it." (On a day that the temperature was about 67)

What was I thinking????? Now you might think that this isn't the end of the world. Open the windows, right? Ummmm. That would be a "NO!" Why? Because I firmly believe that Westerly, RI is home to the majority of Bees, Hornets, Wasps and all other flying beasts of the civilized world and they all love my car! This is not a statement made in jest. No. If I leave my windows down at work, I swear, 4 out of 5 days a week, I spend the first 10 minutes out in 95 plus temps fighting to get at least one of the little bastards out of my car. Oh, and just for the record, I'm allergic to bees. I won't die from them, but I swell up like a balloon.

If I leave my windows rolled up, it is at least 120 degrees at 3:30 and there is no possible way to get that hot air out of the car when as you drive down the road, you are blasted by more hot air. No answer here except to pay $30.00 to the mechanic to see IF it will hold a charge and if so, another $150.00 to do the work. Ya, $500.00 what a freakin deal. Somebody shoot me.

On a brighter note, oh, wait a minute, there isn't one.

Ok, I'm fibbing. Whatever was causing my allergies is gone. Probably couldn't survive the temperatures either. At least I'm sleeping again and I'm off the Zyrtec. That's a good thing. I hate taking meds. Especially ones like that. Taking that stuff is like what they say about doing speed. No sleep, dry mouth, yadda yadda.


Along with our heat issue, we can also bitch about another issue. Ants! Huge carpenter ants have decided to inhabit our place. This happens every year, but this year is a banner one. These suckers are starting their own country in our place, I kid you not. This past week has been horrible. But that too seems to be winding down. Normally, we have to spray twice inside and out before they leave. This year, it took 4 treatments. But I think they have left. I saw a little white flag last night staggering over the threshold to the front porch and this morning there was tiny little graffetti words and symbols written across the bottom of the front door. Tiny empty cans of spray paint littered the front lawn and a burned Barbie doll, tied to a steak was hoisted up to the railing. Ya, they're pissed. Sucks to be them.


Ants. That brings back memories of games we played as kids and my kids played as kids. Remember Ants in the Pants? How about Shutes and Ladders? I can remember a lot of games that I never see anymore. They probably still have them. I knew, for example, after playing Operation that I would never make it as a surgeon. I lost every time. I was pretty good a pick-up-sticks though. I cheated. I would blow lightly every time it was my brother's turn. I was a rotten child. True. Yup, once at four years old, I dropped the cat from the porch onto my brother's back as he bent over the trash barrel just to scare the cat. He was 7. It did. I can still feel that wooden spoon on my backside for that one. But we played games by the hour. That and building things. I would rather play with my brother's Lincoln Logs and Erector set than with dolls.

Well, I have rambled on enough for one day. I really need to be doing something constructive. I think I'll go and construct myself a Rum and Coke.

Later...

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen