Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Sunday, Apr. 01, 2007 10:02 P.M.

Horrible Day

I got home about 2:30. I had to regroup before I wrote this out, so I read a few diaries. I posted one comment and then figured I would try to put this down. It isn�t just to tell you, but to document of for future reference.

Terry woke up this morning around 7:00. Around 9:00 he started shivering so bad, he couldn�t set the microwave to heat his coffee. He came into the living room and said he was freezing. I got him a quilted shirt and he got into his recliner. I took his temperature and it was 98.8. Normal. I asked if he was in any pain and he said his back and neck hurt. Within the next hour, he had vomited about 5 times and was still saying he was freezing.

I kept asking if he wanted to go to the hospital, but he kept saying no. At 10:00 things changed quickly. He sat on his chair and stopped talking. His pupils were the size of pinpricks but that really did it was that at 10:15, just 15 minutes later, I took his temperature once again and it was 104.1. That did it. I told him he could feel lousy and be pissed at me for calling the ambulance, or he could feel lousy and agree with me. He nodded his head yes and I called.

They did a chest X-ray, ran blood and urine and told me that what probably started out as a bladder infection quite a few days ago, had turned into a severe kidney infection. They said it was lucky I brought him in when I did. He was very sick. They put him on two different antibiotics and I thought I had heard all the news, when they came in and said they wanted another X-ray with dye. They suspected a blood clot.

They asked if he was allergic to any medication and I told them that he is allergic to the dye. They then asked how server his reaction was when he had it and I told them he looked like W.C. Fields on steroids. True.

The doctor said that that wouldn�t be an option then, and walked out. I had no idea what he was getting to.

Ten minutes later a nurse came in and said she had to give him a shot of Heprin. I know that�s a blood thinner, so I asked why. She said they suspected he had a blood clot in his lungs. How much more could the poor guy take? She gave him the shot and left, saying that since they couldn�t do the X-ray that would confirm it, that they would just go ahead and treat him as though it were a definite. It wouldn�t hurt him if he didn�t. Half an hour later, I put my hand on his head. Cool as a cucumber and soaking wet. Thank God his fever broke.

Finally by 2:00, thy were ready to take him up to his room. He was talking better by that point and asked me to go home. He said I looked tired. Before you think I�m the world�s worse wife for leaving, I must tell you that Terry will not sleep if anyone is there with him. I know when he says I look tired, what he is really saying is, �Go home so I can sleep.�

I left and came home and just fell into the couch. I called at 4:00 and he was sleeping. No fever and comfortable. He called me at 5. He still sounded a little out of it, but the sleep had helped.

I don�t know what tomorrow will bring. I am scared that they didn�t get it in time. I am scared at what was on his chest X-ray. I am just really, really scared.

Prayers are appreciated. If you aren�t the sort to pray, just your well wishes will be welcomed.

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen