Cosmic's Corner

Home~ Older~ Profile~ Links~ R & R~ Write Me~ B'Day Page


Public Services

Do Not Call
Registry

Good Reads


My Book


Sondra's
Book


Marys
Book

***

Neat Places


Women's
Funny
Videos


from the start.

Saturday, Apr. 24, 2004 7:49 P.M.

Yard Sale Bliss

I just had to update again today. I don�t brag much, unless you count bragging about my kids and my grandkids, but I love to brag when I score on my yard sale boogying.

I scored so big today! I am so happy with myself.

A build up first. Terry loves his audio books. Being an amputee and sitting on his butt all day, it gets sore. This means that when he reads (and he does this a lot) he can only read so much and then has to put his book down to change positions. He can�t read lying on his side for very long. He can�t lie on his stomach. His arms get tired if he tries to read lying on his back.

This also means that about the only way he can read is sitting up. So at Christmas, I bought him an audio book and signed him up to audiobook.com. He loves them.

Warning: The brag cometh.

Sister Stella and I went grocery shopping today. Of course from April 1st to October 1st when I go grocery shopping, I hit any and all yard sales that fall in between my house and the store which is about 4 miles from here. I went to said yard sale today at the High School. The proceeds are to go toward an all night non-alcohol graduation party for the senior class. I think that is wonderful. So this is a win-win yard sale.

I was walking down the second of maybe 15 tables, when I saw some audiobooks. I asked how much they were. The LIC, (lady in charge) informed me they were $2.00 each. I started picking up a few. Then a few more. Then a few more. I ended up with a bucket full. 21 to be exact. I went over and approached the LIC and asked her if prices were firm (it would have been $42.00 or if I could play Monty Hall in �Let�s Make a Deal�

We played �Let�s Make a Deal� and nobody even had to wear the stupid costumes. She asked how I felt about $20.00 for the 21 books. I told her I felt all warm and fuzzy. I told her I wanted to have her baby. I told her that she could have my first-born child. Ok, I just told her it sounded like a good deal. She even threw in the plastic tub for no extra charge.

I thought I was done. I was all set to leave, but no-o-o-o-o. Not gonna happen. It seems that I missed a few audio books and Dear Sister Stella just HAD to notice. I just missed a couple. Ummm, that would be 14 more.

Ok, ok, back to the LIC (aforementioned lady in charge) Now I know that she is going to just love me to death for making sure she doesn�t have to box all of these up and haul them away. I�m doing her a favor right? I�m hoping I can get the same deal on these. A quick calculation on my part estimates that I got the first bunch for not $2.00 each, but a mere $1.05. By my additional calculations, I might get the same deal and only have to pay $21.00 for these. No such thing. She charged me $15.00 for the second batch! Close enough. I scoffed 36 audio books for a pittance! A total of $35.00! That averages out to $1.03 per book. I am such a wheeler-dealer.

Just for the fun of it when I got home, Terry called out the list price on each of them and I totaled them up. Are you ready for this? It came to $686.31 for the whole kit and caboodle.

Of course this is new in perfect boxes, but still� I figure after he listens to them, I can get $5.00 each on e-bay all day long. I will get back my cost plus a neat little profit of, ahem, about $115.00. Not to shabby.

Granddaughter Brittni is spending the night with us tonight. At the moment, she is surfing the Disney channel on grandpa�s computer. We just finished dinner and now I�m getting ready for an night of TV.

Damn, I love week-ends.

Later�

Later,
Cosmic

|

yesterday's gone/tomorrow's coming

- - 2009-07-27
- - 2009-07-07
- - 2009-06-29
- - 2009-06-26
- - 2009-06-09


MY PERSONAL HEALTH PROGRAM

� kmurray 2007 - 8

D'land Buds

Hubby's Place

Artgnome
ashwink14
Batten
Blue Opal
BoXx9000
casa-rosie
Cassie
Cocoabean
Dangerspouse
Elgan
H2odragon
H2ophobic
Miss Hiss
Ibepiglet
Kungfu Kitten
LA-the-Sage
Lorster
Life-my-way
Mizlizzy
Mnlady1962
my5cents
Poolagirl
Roadiepig
Sandysands
Shear-madnez
scotvalkyrie
The Cranky One
wifemotherme
Wyndspirit
Our Host

Blogger Buds

Ann & Bob
Chailife
Katastrophe
Lena
lizski
Pseudowife
Sam (from NZ)
Snicker-snak
sunshine
sunshine

Wordpress Buds

Blue Sleepy
Capitolady
Cookiejar Princess
Crow Cottage
Fortyplus
Gardenqueen
her-story
Gemini Gems
Karmacat
KLo
ship-jumper
The Flying Rat
midlifeinminneapolis
mom on roof again
summerfever
words of mine
Yankeechick

Elsewhere Buds

Always Ange
Bozoette Mary
D-Manz
Golfwidow
Jim's Journal
L-Empress
Lucky Nick
Michael Manning
Riddiger
Shiznit
Sixweasels
Suburban Island
That Gay Chick
TranceJen